Vintage Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
In my opinion, it was much too lengthy of a process for something that tasted just"ok" I think next time I will add more lemon and/or water and less sugar, it was kind of on the sweet side and I like more of the lemon flavor to come out in my lemonade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
very yummy. A little sweet for my taste, but I think I can just add more water. The taste of the rinds really adds nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
It was ok, nothing different than fresh squeezed lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
I just made this lemonade today and I couldn't wait to rave about it. Let me just say- DELICIOUS! My whole family loved it. The only thing I did differently was poured the sugar/lemon peel mixture in the hot water. I only did this because my bowl wasn't big enough to hold it all. Other than that everything was according to the recipe. I plan to try this again with the juice of an orange. Once again- DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kstanfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This is so good I won't even bother trying any other recipes. I knew it would be wonderful after seeing the rind was used for the oil (I always score the rind of the lemon that goes in my tea for the extra flavor). To avoid any bitterness just use a vegetable peeler to peel the rind so you don't get any of the pith. I couldn't resist trying some of the sugar as it soaked and it was luscious! Would probably taste great in tea. Also the water has a lovely yellow color after steeping. I followed the recipe exactly for the sugar and water but used 6 large lemons (1 3/4 cups of juice) and it was the perfect balance of sweet and tart. I love the store bought Simply Lemonade but honestly, this is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
much better than all lemonade you can purchase in the shops
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Münster, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I didn't like the flavor from the rind. I think it would be better to use the zest rather than the entire rind. But, I suppose this is how they used to do it back in the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
i love this recipe! i've made this a couple of times already, and i totally agree with the mods - scrape off the piths, less sugar (~1 cup total) and more water (~1cup more). i also like to throw in some thinly sliced ginger peels (fresh) into the sugar to add a different taste! this recipe takes more time, but it is worth it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
make sure to pour boiled water over the peels deffinately affects the taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiff

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
LOVELY recipe- only 4 stars because it really should include instructions to NOT stir the rinds & sugar. It also should advise to minimize the amount of white pith (white inner skin) that you peel off- this is what makes it bitter. Otherwise, this is a sweeeet lemonade-- easily remedied with adding more water if you want a lighter sweetness! I WILL MAKE THIS AGAIN!!!! YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States