Vintage Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Can I leave SIX stars? This is delicious as written! The only down-side is cutting the rind off, but it is well-worth doing!The only modification I made (to expeditite drinking it!) was to cut the water amount in-half, heat that portion and pour over the sugar/lemon rind. Then after draining the mixture, I allowed it to cool for a bit but then added some ice cubes to cool it faster. Then I added the remaining water, using ice cold water and added the lemon juice last. This way I wouldn't "cook" the fresh juice. Wonderful-thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This lemonade reminds me of what my Grandmother used to make when I was little. Love this recipe and thanks for bringing back some wonderful memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was an awesome recipe!! I will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Perfect and refreshing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Awesome lemonade! I juice the lemons first too. I also do six lemons with 1 extra cup of water - keeping the sugar the same or a little less. Making more than one batch at a time is smart or you will have to repeat the whole process again as soon as you finish off that one pitcher! SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhusgen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Such fun! I enjoyed the process of making this as much as the end result. I did add a quarter cup of fresh blue berries and it came out a really nice color. Later tonight I will be adding grey goose ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Tasted too much of the lemon rinds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Splendid! I'm a lemon lover so this was like a god-sent gift to me! I made 5 servings of this, so used 6 lemons, 6 cups water and cut back the sugar to 3/4 cup to suit my taste (and calorie intake ;) ) I peeled the rinds very carefully ensuring not to get any of the white membrane in the peel. The one thing I did different was, that I left the sugar-sprinkled-rinds overnight in a covered bowl on my countertop and continued with the rest of the preparation the following day. No bitterness at all - 1 reviewers suggestion of not disturbing the rinds whilst they're soaking in sugar was a very valuable tip. :) Chilled lemonade with ice has always been my favourite and this recipe has ensured that I remain addicted to it for years to come! =D P.S. My family loves this too! =) Thanks Aunt Suzie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riri2

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Well, my daughter finally likes lemonade now, thanks to this vintage recipe. To me, the recipe as written seems almost more like a concentrate. I added water to my dispenser (1 gallon?) until it was 3/4 full, and I probably could have added even more water. But, it is such a lovely flavor -- neither too sweet nor too sour. Peeling the lemons was a bear, so I'm thinking next time I'll squeeze out the juice while in rind, and then cut up the peels and soak them in sugar. Yummy, yummy -- this will be great for the lemonade stand. Thanks, Aunt Suzie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sadiebugsmom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
My daughters and I love this recipe! How can you go wrong with a classic?....You can't! Here are the changes I made: I used 9 lemons, 1 1/2 cups of sugar, and 1 1/2 quarts of water. I juiced the lemons first and then just added the juiced rinds to a bowl. Other than that...followed exactly. This is my only Lemonade recipe that I will use from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States