Vintage Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
This is how I make lemonade when I have the time. The zest makes it really special. For an extra kick, try adding a few white pepper corns when you heat the water. it adds a demension to the zest that is really, Really special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Odenton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is by far, the best lemonade I have ever tasted! Followed recipe exactly. Avoided stirring the rinds/water/sugar mixture. Just let it steep for the 20 minutes, strained into the pitcher and ... DEEELICIOUS! :) 5 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
The taste is worth the effort! I zested the lemons & used half the sugar, then stirred that occasionally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
We have a lemon tree in our backyard and since I discovered this recipe last summer, I've made so many batches of lemonade I don't even follow a recipe anymore! This is the best lemonade recipe! Typically, I take 4-5 lemons, peel the rind off a couple of them (I use a potato peeler), place them in a bowl and pour a cup or so of sugar over them. Then I squeeze the lemons and boil however much water looks like is needed to fill my pitcher. When the water has boiled, I put the sugar/rind mixture in a fine strainer, pour the water over it, and then pour the lemon juice into the strainer as well. What I like about this way is that from there, I can season to taste. I can either add more sugar (and because the mixture is still warm, it will dissolve) or more lemon juice, or more warm water from the tap. Once it tastes perfect, I leave it on the counter to cool some and then put it in the fridge to chill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
It takes a lot longer to make than regular lemonade but we thought it was great! I used the potato peeler and peeled only the yellow skin off the lemon. I can't wait to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Most def the best lemonade i have made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Oh my this was wonderful. This is the only way I will make lemonade from now on. Thanks for sharing this historical recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
In my opinion, it was much too lengthy of a process for something that tasted just"ok" I think next time I will add more lemon and/or water and less sugar, it was kind of on the sweet side and I like more of the lemon flavor to come out in my lemonade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
very yummy. A little sweet for my taste, but I think I can just add more water. The taste of the rinds really adds nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
It was ok, nothing different than fresh squeezed lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States