Vintage Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
I just made this and WOW!! It's EXACTLY what I was looking for! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Raceland, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Wonderful lemonade! Incorporating the flavor from the peels is such a great idea. Instead of peeling the rinds and cutting them into slices, I used a microplane to take just the zest off and mixed that into the sugar. After the sugar is dissolved in the hot water I strain the zest out with a fine mesh strainer. I would recommend not tweeking out and trying to get every last bit of the zest off the peel and to take care to get as little of the white part as possible. The first time I made this I tried to get ALL the zest off and I think it caused me to go over the same area more than once and even that little bit of white part added some bitterness to the end result. I also added a little extra water because the flavor was kind of strong for my taste but that could just be me. Great lemon flavor does lie in the zest and now I can't imagine why I never thought of using it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This was fantastic! One other reviewer said to use a veggie peeler on the rinds and this work beautifully. I will make this again with out a doubt. Now I want to experiment and add strawberries or other fruit to it too. BTW I also used the Splenda granulated sugar substitute (not the packets) and it turned out great and lower calorie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
It was very good; however there was a slight bitterness along with the sweet lemony taste. I'm not sure if that's from the lemons I used, or what...or maybe that's just how it's suppose to taste? It was fun to watch the sugar turn to goop in the lemon rinds. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coracoracora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
This lemonade is fantastic - some of the best I've ever had. I peeled the lemon rind using a vegetable peeler to avoid getting the pith, then mixed with the sugar. I also boiled only half the water to mix with the sugar and peels, and added ice to the pitcher, so I didn't have to wait for anything to cool. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
The Best lemonade I've ever had!!! And so Simple and cheap to make. Thank you for sharing this recipe, I may never drink store bought lemonade again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This was very sweet and syrupy! I kept squeezing lemons to get a little bit of that tart flavor most of us love about lemonade. Keep everything the same, except add the juice of at least 4 more lemons to the final stage. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camas Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Can I leave SIX stars? This is delicious as written! The only down-side is cutting the rind off, but it is well-worth doing!The only modification I made (to expeditite drinking it!) was to cut the water amount in-half, heat that portion and pour over the sugar/lemon rind. Then after draining the mixture, I allowed it to cool for a bit but then added some ice cubes to cool it faster. Then I added the remaining water, using ice cold water and added the lemon juice last. This way I wouldn't "cook" the fresh juice. Wonderful-thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This lemonade reminds me of what my Grandmother used to make when I was little. Love this recipe and thanks for bringing back some wonderful memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was an awesome recipe!! I will use it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States