Vintage Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Tasty! After reading through the reviews, I didn't cut out very much of the pith - only where it was especially thick on one lemon. I reduced the sugar to 1C and added a teaspoon of dried lavender. I accidentally added too much water, filling the bowl to almost 2Qts with the lemon, lavender and sugar... and yet, this was fabulous! Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoochee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Very nice lemonade. This is the first time I've made lemonade from scratch, so I took the time to read the reviews. I used less sugar (3/4 cup total) and zested the lemons instead of cutting up the rinds, and I'm glad I did. This lemonade turned out very lemony, with a tart taste that gets better as you sip. I followed the advice to not mix the sugar with the lemon; really, not sure what that did, but it worked out perfectly fine. My only problem was juicing the lemons; if I start making more lemonade I'm getting something to juice them with; a little hard by hand! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
This was just what I was looking for and when down very well at an afternoon tea party. Will defiantly be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Yummy, will be making this alot...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I tried this recipe yesterday, me and my boyfriend loved it. I used more water than the recipe called for though. I think it is the best I have ever had though, nice lemon flavor but not too sweet. I will be using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmvale, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Excellent lemonade. I used a potato peeler to remove just the rind - no bitterness at all. I added a little extra water to make it less sweet. Also suggest using organic lemons so there are no pesticides released into the sugar or hot water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Wow - this is the best lemonade I have ever tasted. It didn't hurt that the lemons were picked fresh from our tree!! Will absolutely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
The best lemonade ever! I used only half the sugar and that was sweet enough for us! Also, good tip from previous reviewer about the membrane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
This was absolutely the best lemonade ever. For those who complained of bitterness, you probably used the entire peel. It might be better to say to use the zest, the white is very bitter. I even substituted half the sugar for Splenda (added after it was all mixed together, I only used sugar with the zest). Thanks for sharing such a wonderful recipe. Tested and true through the years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Very strong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecritic

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 11-20 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States