Vini's Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Very happy that I tried this! I doubled the spice rub ingredients, except for the salt-I used 2tsp salt. I also used beef stock instead of water for the sauce. Paired with mashed potatoes and steamed baby carrots. Was fantastic and super MOIST! I normally stay away from cooking pork, but this will be on my dinner table monthly now! MMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PookityPoo
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I never cooked a pork loin before and my husband absolutely LOVED this! So simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I've been meaning rate this recipe for over a year, it is absolutely EXCELLENT! No need to change anything and all my picky eaters love this! This is on my menu every other week, thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was tasty and easily converted to a crock pot recipe. The meat fell apart and I liked the flavors. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I thought I had lost this recipe. It was passed to me by a friend. Every time I made a pork roast, l looked for it to no avail. Today, I saved and printed it. I reduce the salt to 1/2 tsp and follow the rest of the recipe exactly. I love carrots and a green vegetable with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This roast was fabulous. The best pork loin I ever made. I had a 2.88 pounder that I tied. I baked it for 1 1/2 hours and let it rest while I made the gravy. It was cooked to perfection. I didn't have browning sauce but I used the drippings and 1/2 and 1/2 apple cider and vegetable broth and thickened it with the cornstarch. I added a few more seasonings to it but it was good. The real star was the pork. I did use fresh sage instead of dry and I drizzled a little EVOO over the top so it wouldn't dry out. What great flavors together. Thank's for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDASILVA11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I loved this simple and delicious rub! The caraway was a welcome departure from the spices I typically use and was a beautiful compliment to the pork. The cooking directions were spot on and it was so nice to have gravy and potatoes. So often I cook meat and potatoes but don't have the drippings for gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Good flavor, although I had to sub rosemary for the caraway seed so will try again with caraway. I followed reviewers' suggestions and cut the salt to 1/2 tsp. Used beef broth instead of water in the gravy for more flavor since I didn't have browning sauce. Would definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
i bought a pork shoulder butt roast (yeah i know that sounds like an oxymoron or whatever) at the grocery store and was just looking for some simple seasoning recipe that i could do quickly with stuff i had. i looked at this and 'herb roasted pork loin and potatoes'. i put the sage in a bowl and smelled it and it just smelled like thanksgiving stuffing, so i added onion powder, garlic powder, sea salt and fresh ground black pepper until the seasonings smelled good, then i rubbed it all over the meat and cooked it at 350 for 30 mins per pound. when it was done i immediatly wrapped it tightly in foil and placed it on a dish in the microwave while i finished everything else. *****the tip i have for the gravy is to mix the water and cornstarch in a salad dressing shaker then add to the drippings, that way your gravy has no lumps!!!***** i served this with homemade mashed potatoes and sliced up apples into a frying pan with some butter, brown sugar and lemon juice (i read that on the other recipes suggestions) oh with some dinner rolls and a salad this was one of the best meals ever! i will use a pork tenderloin next time but oh my god! this is now a family favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Very nice! Like others, I mostly left recipe alone. Didn't have browning sauce and didn't need it. I did put slits in roast and added chopped garlic. Then I added garlic powder and olive oil to the spices, spread the paste on roast a few hours ahead, wrapped it in saran, and tada--our family was pleasantly surprised at how much they enjoyed caraway. It was flavorful and moist--and as the cook, you should definitely sample an outside piece too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States