Vini's Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
This recipe was so simple that I kept on passing it up - didn't seem much different than a lot of other roasts that I make. Well I was wrong - this gets 5 stars along with some of my other pork favorites! Made no changes other than to put the seasonings on the meat and wrapped the meat in plastic wrap for a few hours (I do that with a lot of my roasts if I have time so that the flavor seeps in). I also put slits into the roast and inserted slivers of garlic in the slits (which I always do with pork roasts - my preference). I decided to follow Vini's cooking directions exactly and my 3 lb. pork roast was cooked PERFECTLY!!! Just slightly pink - as it should be!! Soooooo moist. Also decided to make the gravy as Vini suggested rather than doing it my way which is work intensive and sometimes can be a disaster if you are cooking other things at the same time. Vini's gravy was EXCELLENT - Novice chefs will love his recipe for gravy - you can't go wrong! Since it was Columbus Day and everyone had to work except for me I made this roast and all the trimmings - mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, Stove Top Pork Stuffing, Asian style green beans, the last of the summer tomatoes, and apple sauce. Well we feasted that night - and just like Thanksgiving - we enjoyed the leftovers the next night since the meat remained so moist! Thanks Vini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
Vini, I don't know how you came up with this recipe... but we think it is most definitly 5 star. I had a 3.25 # roast and checked at 90 minutes, and it was to right temperature. We are cutting carbs so I left out the cornstarch and went for some more flavoring for a "gravy". I added some broth and some red wine vinegar and boiled it a few minutes with the left over juices and added water. I served by slicing (very important to let it "rest" for about 10 minutes before slicing) into 1/2 thick slices and pouring the thin sauce over and letting it set in the juices covered in a warm oven while I made side dishes. Wow! moist and great flavor. Thank you, for probably the best recipe I have tried(And I have tried QUITE a few) on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
We thought this was excellent. I was running late and didn't make the gravy, but it was delicious without. I will definitely make this again (next time with the gravy). I also added some potatoes to the pan to roast along with the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2000
Probably the best pork loin recipe I have ever tried. My family claims that there isn't a restaurant anywhere that could make it taste better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPA_G

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
One of the best pork loins I've made. Save yourself an "outside" piece. The spices form a delicious crust which counterpoints the meat and is just fabulous. I followed the roasting instructions to the "T." My four pound roast finished in almost exactly two hours and the inside meat temperature was 160. The meat was a little pink on the inside, which I fixed with a brief stop in the micro. The gravy was simply tremendous--like I knew exactly what I was doing (I didn't have a clue). I served this with Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes, available on this website, Bavarian sauerkraut, garlic bread sticks, and tossed salad with homemade blue cheese dressing. You bet I deserve a medal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2002
Extremely,extermely salty.Besides that very good.Will try again with less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
i bought a pork shoulder butt roast (yeah i know that sounds like an oxymoron or whatever) at the grocery store and was just looking for some simple seasoning recipe that i could do quickly with stuff i had. i looked at this and 'herb roasted pork loin and potatoes'. i put the sage in a bowl and smelled it and it just smelled like thanksgiving stuffing, so i added onion powder, garlic powder, sea salt and fresh ground black pepper until the seasonings smelled good, then i rubbed it all over the meat and cooked it at 350 for 30 mins per pound. when it was done i immediatly wrapped it tightly in foil and placed it on a dish in the microwave while i finished everything else. *****the tip i have for the gravy is to mix the water and cornstarch in a salad dressing shaker then add to the drippings, that way your gravy has no lumps!!!***** i served this with homemade mashed potatoes and sliced up apples into a frying pan with some butter, brown sugar and lemon juice (i read that on the other recipes suggestions) oh with some dinner rolls and a salad this was one of the best meals ever! i will use a pork tenderloin next time but oh my god! this is now a family favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I loved this! I rated a 4 due to the salt. Next time, I will cut amount in half. But that just affected the trim of the roast. I almost skipped the gravy because I was so hungry & in a hurry but glad I didn't. (I don't know what browning sauce is so that didn't make it in.) Even though the pork was tender, it added just the right amount of flavorful juiciness to boost the meat. Easy & my fiancee was "wowed!" Paired with easy mashed pots & buttery spinach with mushrooms/tomatoes made a Sunday-best meal. Thanks Vini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
I've used this recipe over and over again. It is a bit too salty for our taste so I cut that back a little. Otherwise, I'd give it five stars. I don't make the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
Too salty. Next time I will cut back on the salt and the cornstarch. The gravy needed something....maybe some garlic powder? Good recipe with some minor adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States