Vini's Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2004
Nice tasting roast. Delicious gravy -- I didn't have the browning sauce, so I added a tiny amount of beef-flavored Better Than Bouillon for color and more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZCANCOOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2004
We thought this was excellent. I was running late and didn't make the gravy, but it was delicious without. I will definitely make this again (next time with the gravy). I also added some potatoes to the pan to roast along with the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
This recipe was so simple that I kept on passing it up - didn't seem much different than a lot of other roasts that I make. Well I was wrong - this gets 5 stars along with some of my other pork favorites! Made no changes other than to put the seasonings on the meat and wrapped the meat in plastic wrap for a few hours (I do that with a lot of my roasts if I have time so that the flavor seeps in). I also put slits into the roast and inserted slivers of garlic in the slits (which I always do with pork roasts - my preference). I decided to follow Vini's cooking directions exactly and my 3 lb. pork roast was cooked PERFECTLY!!! Just slightly pink - as it should be!! Soooooo moist. Also decided to make the gravy as Vini suggested rather than doing it my way which is work intensive and sometimes can be a disaster if you are cooking other things at the same time. Vini's gravy was EXCELLENT - Novice chefs will love his recipe for gravy - you can't go wrong! Since it was Columbus Day and everyone had to work except for me I made this roast and all the trimmings - mashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, Stove Top Pork Stuffing, Asian style green beans, the last of the summer tomatoes, and apple sauce. Well we feasted that night - and just like Thanksgiving - we enjoyed the leftovers the next night since the meat remained so moist! Thanks Vini!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
Very good and tasty. Did any leftovers. Made it for a group of friends and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
Vini, I don't know how you came up with this recipe... but we think it is most definitly 5 star. I had a 3.25 # roast and checked at 90 minutes, and it was to right temperature. We are cutting carbs so I left out the cornstarch and went for some more flavoring for a "gravy". I added some broth and some red wine vinegar and boiled it a few minutes with the left over juices and added water. I served by slicing (very important to let it "rest" for about 10 minutes before slicing) into 1/2 thick slices and pouring the thin sauce over and letting it set in the juices covered in a warm oven while I made side dishes. Wow! moist and great flavor. Thank you, for probably the best recipe I have tried(And I have tried QUITE a few) on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
This recipe was wonderful! Make sure you cut salt by half at least, but we just love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
I made this tonight. Pork roast was on sale at the grocery store, so I bought it without even knowing how to cook it. I followed this recipe, and added a little rosemary as well. The family ate the whole 3-lb roast in one meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
One of the best pork loins I've made. Save yourself an "outside" piece. The spices form a delicious crust which counterpoints the meat and is just fabulous. I followed the roasting instructions to the "T." My four pound roast finished in almost exactly two hours and the inside meat temperature was 160. The meat was a little pink on the inside, which I fixed with a brief stop in the micro. The gravy was simply tremendous--like I knew exactly what I was doing (I didn't have a clue). I served this with Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes, available on this website, Bavarian sauerkraut, garlic bread sticks, and tossed salad with homemade blue cheese dressing. You bet I deserve a medal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
I have made this several times and it is delicious. Moist and tender and really easy and quick to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
We do love this unique flavor! Something different but tasty is always welcome at the table. I gave this 5 stars all the way accross the board! My kids eat just about anything, no picky eaters allowed! So, my kids are rare but if it was really bad they would have said so. We give this thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FERBONIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Modesto, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States