Vinegar and Egg Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
EXCELLENT TO WORK WITH, DOES'T FALL APART WHEN HANDLING. CAN BE OVERWORKED MORE THAN STANDARD CRUSTS WITHOUT RISK OF TOUGHENING. VERY FLAKY WHEN BAKED, AND THE BOTTOM CRUST BROWNS WITHOUT FAIL. THIS IS THE ONLY CRUST RECIPE I USE, AND PEOPLE WHO HAVE TASTED MY PIES RAVE AND ASK ME FOR THE RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2001
By far - my favorite crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
This is the best crust ever. My Mom thought is was store bought. But knew it couldn't be because the top crust was less than perfect. It is hard to work with. But well worth it. Know everyone thinks I should start baking on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2007
This is practically a no-fail pie crust recipe, although I agree with a previous reviewer that you have to be careful not to overwork it. I get three single crusts from this recipe. My tweak is that I use 1.5 cups of shortening (or a mixture of shortening and butter) to 3 cups of flour, and increase the vinegar to 1 tablespoon. Sometimes I'll even add in a 1/4 tsp of baking powder per cup of flour, I find that makes it even more tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squawk93

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Wow!! Super easy pie crust recipe. For those who think it is hard to work with, after you mix, dump into a ziplock back, mush it all together in one lump and refridgerate it for 1 hour and it is super easy to work with after it cools. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I'm a first time pie maker and this crust was fairly easy and came out fantastic. Very flaky and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This is also my Mom's "secret" pie crust recipe, and it is the best crust I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I was leery of the crust ingrediets, I worried over nothing, the crust on my pies have to be, hands down, the best I've had, they browned beautifully and were so flaky. I found the crust a little difficult to handle, it tore easily but patching didn't hurt it a bit. This crust recipe is well worth the effort, I won't bother with other crust recipes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This crust was incredible with "Apple Pie by Grandma Opel" by MOSHASMAMA. It worked great, I just followed the directions and didn't even freeze the shortning or anything. My 3 year old took a little bit and worked it over and over and over, as only a 3 year old can, and when I eventually rolled it out and baked it with cinnamon sugar, it was still incredible. The texture is so addicting. It's amazing. It's a different kind of flaky than the traditional pie recipe delivers. It's more of a melt-in-your-mouth kind of flaky. It's wonderful! I did brush the bottom with egg white before adding pie filling. I don't know whether it made a big difference, but the end result was absolute perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This a very easy to make. I made a chicken pot pie with this crust. I also made an apple pie with a glazed topping and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymadness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States