Vinegar Taffy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
This was delicious! My mother used to love this taffy as a little girl, but hadn't had it since she was small. I made it for her for mother's day, and she couldn't believe I'd found a recipe for her favorite candy. It turned out exactly like she remembered. Easy to make, simple recipe. Five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HalfBaked

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Oh my goodness! I grew up on vinegar taffy! Then I made it with my children. This is even good if you don't pull it. and just drop it onto waxed paper in little globs. Here is a tip. you can roll the pieces in a bit of powdered sugar to keep them from sticking together or from sticking to the paper you may have wrapped them in. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
My mom used to make this recipe and I lost it long ago. I am so grateful that you posted it because it was a joy to watch her after nearly 25 years of being gone in my children's eyes as they pulled and pulled on that taffy. It was as I remembered it from my own childhood. Thank you so much. We did colors and flavors for the holidays :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Works great. 1st taffy attempt. It is a bit tangy ang would probably make a great orange or lemon flavored taffy. I didn't have those but used almond and butter flavor extract to add some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This taffy was delicious! We will certainly be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
its fun but kind of hard to pull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I love making candies, but I'm no good at it lol. I made this and it turned out great! I even split the recipe between 3 different cooling trays and used three different flavoring oils!! FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Thrilled to find a recipe I grew up on here. An elderly woman used to make this every Halloween and we couldn't wait to go to her house. Great family fun recipe to involve kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Thanks so much for posting this--I used to make this with my grandmother. A tip if you want to color the taffy: add 5-6 drops of food coloring at the very end, and it will mix through the taffy as you pull it. Also, pull the taffy until it is flat (not shiny) and very difficult to stretch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This was a good recipe, but it tasted kind of weird. I put a half-teaspoon of vanilla extract to flavor it, but the strange, citrusy-vinegar taste was still prevalent. Maybe next time I'll use more extract, if I ever make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States