Vinegar Taffy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2001
This stuff is delicious! The vinegar idea turns most people off, but don't let that deter you. It's really very good and doesn't taste like vinegar. My mom used to make this for us as kids and split the batch into thirds and we'd each help her pull the taffy. Make sure to cover your hands with butter before pulling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2002
Happy to see this recipe here. I have made it for years. The recipe has been passed down from my grandmother. It is always a big hit during the Holiday season. Fun to make and fun to pull. The whole family can enjoy making it and pulling it. The BEST TAFFY I have ever had. Nothing can beat this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
When I tried this recipe the first time it didn't turn out, The second time it turned out very well it was tasty and REALLY FUN to stretch!! It did taste a tiny bit sour though.. And a big problem is that after stretching we cut them into little pieces and put them on a plate to eat.. A while later it all melted into globs on the dish and we couldn't get them off :( I also sent a nice bunch to my grandma and by time she got around to eating them they were all melted and stuck together..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMATULLAH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This was a good recipe, but it tasted kind of weird. I put a half-teaspoon of vanilla extract to flavor it, but the strange, citrusy-vinegar taste was still prevalent. Maybe next time I'll use more extract, if I ever make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Thanks so much for posting this--I used to make this with my grandmother. A tip if you want to color the taffy: add 5-6 drops of food coloring at the very end, and it will mix through the taffy as you pull it. Also, pull the taffy until it is flat (not shiny) and very difficult to stretch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
Thrilled to find a recipe I grew up on here. An elderly woman used to make this every Halloween and we couldn't wait to go to her house. Great family fun recipe to involve kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I love making candies, but I'm no good at it lol. I made this and it turned out great! I even split the recipe between 3 different cooling trays and used three different flavoring oils!! FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
its fun but kind of hard to pull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This taffy was delicious! We will certainly be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Works great. 1st taffy attempt. It is a bit tangy ang would probably make a great orange or lemon flavored taffy. I didn't have those but used almond and butter flavor extract to add some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Microwave Peanut Brittle

See how to make crunchy peanut brittle the super-quick way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States