Vinegar Pie VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Delicious and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Its a good recipe, but you have to like cider vinegar. That is all I could taste. I do prefer the recipe with white vinegar and less vanilla and less sugar. Its a personal taste of course. What I did love was the ease of this recipe. My hubby who never had vinegar pie and my 5 year old son LOVED this recipe and thought it was great. I have a bit of a cold..so maybe not the time to rate things on taste... I took some of the reviews and cooked it at 324 for 45 minutes and it was perfectly done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
This was excellent! I had a cinnamon graham cracker crust I needed to get out of the way, but no 1/2 & 1/2, cream, or gelatin most other pie recipes call for and this was perfect! The sweetish crust and the tangy/tart filling were perfect together! My husband isn't a dessert eater and he had two generous pieces. I was worried about it setting up so I raised the temp to 375 for the last three minutes and cooked it three minutes beyond the end time. The filling was not as stiff as pumpkin pie or cheesecake, but wasn't terribly runny either. The crust didn't burn, but came close enough that my husband asked about it. I might just raise the temp to 325 for the whole duration if it is a problem after I make it again. I followed the recipe exactly otherwise. It would be easily modifiable with different spices, extracts, and liquors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Love this pie! I was reading a book set in the South and the main character kept talking about his mom's vinegar pie. I figured I'd give it a shot and man, is it good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen Mezzetti

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I tried this out of curiousity but it was really good. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect. Had the consistency of a custard pie. Was slightly tangy and very rich. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
My grandpa always said "I like everything except Vinegar Pie". Well he now offically likes everything. I made this pie for him as a joke & he ate the entire pie by himself. No one else in my family was brave enough to try it; but that is just how grandpa likes it, the whole pie to himself:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Barnhart, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
Tastes great, despite the name. Easy to make. Could have used more advice as to whether the filling should be slightly oozy at the 45 min mark (mine was), or whether a knife inserted should come out clean (similar to a pumpkin pie). It gelled up a lot as it cooled, but was still slightly oozy aferwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
My BF really liked this pie. It was easy to make and has a nice custard-like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2002
Talk about take me back! I always wondered how Gramma did this, now I know! Great recipe. Great taste. My 4 year old son helped me with this. I am going to try this with Raspberry Vinegar. I just know it will be great. Thanks for a marvelous trip down memory lane and for restarting a family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by oz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States