Vinegar Pickled Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Similar but not as tasty as mine... I use equal parts (2 cups) water and vinegar. 1/4 cup of sugar, add 2 teaspoons of pickling (brisket) spices, 1/2 tsp of salt, no pepper and blanch the carrots. This brine is also excellent for picked beets and pickled watermelon rind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Viola Shumski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
too much vinegar, these just didn't work at all. there was no "pickle" like bite, just Vinegar bite. Followed instructions exactly, and it just didn't work out. Maybe the planets weren't aligned properly or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitzi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIANE77346
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
This is a very good snack - used Splenda instead of sugar and added pepperoncini and dried dill weed. A small sack of baby carrots filled a quart and the liquid was just the right amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I used baby carrots sliced lengthwise into quarters or sixths depending on how fat they were. I used 1/2 cup sugar and marinated them in a plastic baggie in the fridge for 2 days. They weren't good when marinated for 1 day only. Crispy and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEALUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
Good recipe. You have to be very careful about how you slice your carrots and other veggies versus how long you marinate them in the vinegar mixture. After about 24 hours, thinly sliced zuccini and radishes turned out wonderful in this marinade. However, shredded carrots were REALLY vinegary, and 1/4" carrot slices were kind of bland. So monitor you pickles closely for flavor. Also, I did not think the recipe made enough marinade for the number of carrots, so I would suggest doubling the recipe to be on the safe side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Recipe was easy to make - I used a 1 lb bag of baby carrots and it worked well, carrots were tangy and nice and crisp. I think some additional seasoning would be nice, but I'm not sure what I'd add. Everyone else thought they were good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
Needs to marinate for a loo-oong time to soak up flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
Super taste and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
We have a 20 acre part of our ranch planted in baby carrots. I have been frantic to find different ways to prepare them. These were just Great! I used very tiny whole carrots. They had a spicy tangy,which was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2004
Easy to make and stayed mostly crisp. Worked well with ziplock bag in the fridge. (course had to prop up so it didn't leak ;) Rave reviews from the tudor feast I did this for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States