Vinegar Pickled Carrots Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving and believe that this needs more sugar to cut the strong vinegar taste. I made them on Sunday and the baby carrots were still too crunchy for Thursday. The adults did not care for them but the toddlers liked them so they went home with them. I will try this again with other veggies as I like the idea and ease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I made this for the first time and it turned out great! The carrots were crispy with a little spicy kick from the jalapenos. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanya

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Have added cabbage, garlic cloves, banana peppers, cauliflower and cucumber and always tastes great. I always add celery seed and dill weed, too. Just a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
It was nice to find a vinegar pickle recipe that could be easily adapted. It seems the fewer the steps and ingredients the more room to experiment. After completing the recipe, I couldn't wait the 12 hours. Five hours in I can say I'm thrilled. So much so I'm chewing while typing. I eat, blend, juice, quite a number of vegetables so I used some "crunchy" vegetables that I had available. I like it spicy so in went the last Serrano pepper. Have fun everyone experimenting and finding out what you prefer, there's plenty of reviews to help you out. For me, it's a thanks to Sal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Delicious! I made mine with a few sprigs of fresh dill in the jar, and they turned out great. I also put in a few slices of red pepper and celery. I first tasted them after 24 hours and I agree that they tasted too "vinegary", but after a few more days in the fridge they were really really good. I'll make a much bigger batch next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This worked out great, I added celery and yellow pepper to the mix and a good tablespoon of hot sauce. I let it ferment in the refridgerator for about two weeks. The vegies all stayed crisped and have a wonderful flavor. Thanks for the recipe and the tips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Springer-Man

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brantford, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
I read the reviews and added some dill weed and used a spicy sea salt mixture I had, added some pepperonicini rings and let marinate for 24 hours. Very tasty. I am going to make more and add celery and red pepper flakes for a spicy kick and give out for Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
needs to pickle for longer than 24 hours
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
These carrots are delicious! To make them spicy I added some garlic, sliced jalapenos and red pepper flakes. I have had several requests for this very easy to make and tasty recipe. I also added in some cauliflower for some color and they taste great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I have used this type of recipe with some variations. I add cauliflower, red pepper strips,red onion, celery and toss in some black peppercorns along with the carrots. It is more economical to do this than to purchase Giardiniera. I use dishwasher cleaned pickle bottles, etc. Always a hit on a relish tray for a covered dish affair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Watch Chef John make quick-and-easy pickled peppers.

How to Make Pickled Asparagus

See how to turn fresh asparagus into delicious homemade pickles.

Quick Pickled Eggs and Beets

This simple Southern snack is a cinch to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States