Vinegar Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This pie was really yummy.It is far from the pecan pie I usually make with the corn syrup.I didn't have any corn syrup on hand so I chose this recipe.For my taste it could have been a little sweeter but still it was very good.Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly as written. When we cut into the pie it was as dry as a bone. The pecans just crumbled apart. There was no filling whatsoever. It was a mess. I had read the reviews and was concerned that it would be runny - HA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Boston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Thank goodness that I found this recipe again!!! I used this recipe for Thanksgiving last year and forgot to save it to my recipe box. I had to search for it using the vinegar as an ingredient I wanted and corn syrup as one I didn't. This was one of the two very first pies I've ever made and it got rave reviews. I followed the recipe to a tee with no alterations. It's sweet but not an overkill on the sweet-tooth like most pecan pies. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Ann Claudio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
I've made this pie every Thanksgiving for the last 3 years. My family asks for it each year. It isn't too sweet like a lot of other pecan pie recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WickedChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Thank you so much for this recipe! I have some diabetic friends and i altered this recipe for them. I use Splenda instead of sugar. I look kind of weird but, it came out great! They absolutely love it! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
OK...beware!!! You HAVE to use WHITE VINEGAR in this recipe. I only had Apple Cider Vinegar on hand & ewww yuck, what a mess! The mixture curdled while mixing it up. Then after baking an hour it still reeked of vinegar smell. Then a test taste made me throw it away:( I will try this one again with white vinegar as a friend told me that the apple cider variety IS the reason mine curdled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
My mom, who is well known for her more "traditional" pecan pie recipe, gave this recipe 3 stars. I, on the other hand, LOVED this recipe and I would give it 5...so I compromised. It really is delicious if you like pecan pie but enjoy things a little less sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This was delicious! The perfect sweetness! It made a thinner pie than I expected, but it tasted perfect and looked great (even though I accidentally overbaked it!). Thanks for this extremely simple, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
I just made this for desert at my firehouse. EVERYONE loved it, it is not super sweet like other pecan pies are. I did however change a couple things, doubled the amount of vanilla and pecans, after all, it is pecan pie. This will definatly be my new standard pie recipe, seriously, everyone should make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
corn syrup is *so* sweet, and i don't happen to keep it in my pantry because i never use it. so in finding this recipe, i had to try it. WOW!! this is such an easy and quick recipe, and sooo good. the "pie" came out custard-y, just the right sweetness and light. not at all the heavy, greasy, gut bomb pecan pies can sometimes be. well worth trying, even if you wrinkle your nose at the vinegar. my tweaks to the recipe: used light brown sugar instead of the white sugar, upped the vanilla a half a teaspoon, added a couple dashes of cinnamon, and melted the butter before mixing with the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILSKIBO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Chef John’s Pecan Pie

Pecan pie with the perfect ratio of nutty crunch to sticky sweetness.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States