Vinegar Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I used red wine vinegar and chix breast with the bone. I grilled them and boiled the marinate, brushing it on as it grilled. I was in a rush and only marinated chix for 2 hrs,it was really good! I will make this again that's for sure!! Hubby thought this chix was tender and juicy, not dried out at all, like the breast tend to do. Thanks Bellemic! Patty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Excellent and so easy to make. The only change I made was to use white balsamic vinegar instead of plain (I was out of regular vinegar). Tender and juicy with lots of garlic flavor. Sliced and served on top of a salad. My new favorite chicken recipe. Thank you GodivaGirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I will definately make this again. I think that grilling on the BBQ was the finishing touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Hubs and I both enjoyed this and I was surprised he did, given he is always against any kind of marinades (I did it while he was working before he had a chance to object). Personally, I prefer the way he generally grills chicken (I think it's his secret) but it was fun to try something different. I used olive oil rather than margarine and followed the rest of the marinade ingredients as directed. The flavors are all very mellow, and you wouldn't have guessed there was any hot sauce in the marinade at all, so if you like a little kick, I'd suggest adding more. The thing I wasn't crazy about, however, is the vinegar that is this marinade's signature - while I couldn't isolate any of the other ingredients in the marinade, the tang of the vinegar was unmistakable and a little too pronounced for me. If I were to make this again I'd substitute white wine. All and all, a perfectly okay marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This recipe is great! I'm always looking for new ways to cook chicken, and my mom used to use a vinegar based sauce on the grill - this came close. Like some others I subbed olive oil for the butter (I was making this at 6 AM and didn't feel like revving up the microwave to melt it) and also instead of garlic salt used 1 TBSP of garlic powder and about 1/2 TBSP regular salt. Everyone loved it in my house! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Great recipe, using kichen staples! I switched the garlic salt to 1 tbls garlic powder and 1 1/2 tbls minced garlic (huge garlic fan). also swapped the butter for olive oil. My husband adds salt to everything, but not this! So Im glad I didnt use the garlic salt. I also halved the hot sauce so my 1 year old could try it. loved it! I might try to strictly follow the recipe next time just to see how big of a difference the changes made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I made a few changes but first let me say THIS WAS DELICIOUS!!! Ok the changes. I made it for two rather than four. Of necessity, I used soy sauce instead of Worcestershire and it was fine. I replaced the butter with olive oil also with no problems and less fat. Now the big change, I baked rather than grilled the chicken and used bone-in breasts which I think are juicier and are also more economical. I lined a glass baking dish with foil for easy clean up. I marinated the breasts for a full day, placed them in the dish, poured the marinade over the top, and sealed tightly with foil. I baked them at 375 for 45 minutes, removed the foil and baked for another fifteen minutes. Once I removed the foil, I basted the breasts often. After 15 minutes and when they tested as nearly done with a meat thermometer, I broiled them for about five minutes to brown and crisp the skin. These were SO juice and SO tender that my husband couldn't stop raving about them. And wow did they smell good! Next time I may try them on the grill but baking works REALLY well. This is definitely a keeper! I served them with couscous with fresh chopped tomatoes added when I fluffed it. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Good. I do think next time I will marinate it over night for more flavor. I don't think four hours is long enough in my opinion. Definately good though, I served it with salad and corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This was great off of the grill! It has a tang to it that you usually only get at restaurants. I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt and it was wonderfull. We will be having this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I was quite pleased with how moist this chicken turned out! I subbed 4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts because that is what I had on hand. Served on a bed of onions, sauteed red, yellow and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Grilled Tandoori Chicken

Watch Chef John make easy tandoori-style chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States