Vinegar Grilled Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I made a few changes but first let me say THIS WAS DELICIOUS!!! Ok the changes. I made it for two rather than four. Of necessity, I used soy sauce instead of Worcestershire and it was fine. I replaced the butter with olive oil also with no problems and less fat. Now the big change, I baked rather than grilled the chicken and used bone-in breasts which I think are juicier and are also more economical. I lined a glass baking dish with foil for easy clean up. I marinated the breasts for a full day, placed them in the dish, poured the marinade over the top, and sealed tightly with foil. I baked them at 375 for 45 minutes, removed the foil and baked for another fifteen minutes. Once I removed the foil, I basted the breasts often. After 15 minutes and when they tested as nearly done with a meat thermometer, I broiled them for about five minutes to brown and crisp the skin. These were SO juice and SO tender that my husband couldn't stop raving about them. And wow did they smell good! Next time I may try them on the grill but baking works REALLY well. This is definitely a keeper! I served them with couscous with fresh chopped tomatoes added when I fluffed it. A big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Hubs and I both enjoyed this and I was surprised he did, given he is always against any kind of marinades (I did it while he was working before he had a chance to object). Personally, I prefer the way he generally grills chicken (I think it's his secret) but it was fun to try something different. I used olive oil rather than margarine and followed the rest of the marinade ingredients as directed. The flavors are all very mellow, and you wouldn't have guessed there was any hot sauce in the marinade at all, so if you like a little kick, I'd suggest adding more. The thing I wasn't crazy about, however, is the vinegar that is this marinade's signature - while I couldn't isolate any of the other ingredients in the marinade, the tang of the vinegar was unmistakable and a little too pronounced for me. If I were to make this again I'd substitute white wine. All and all, a perfectly okay marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
Very flavorful and super simple. This recipe will become a regular in our household. I used boneless chicken breasts and marinated them for 7 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Good. I do think next time I will marinate it over night for more flavor. I don't think four hours is long enough in my opinion. Definately good though, I served it with salad and corn on the cob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I was quite pleased with how moist this chicken turned out! I subbed 4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts because that is what I had on hand. Served on a bed of onions, sauteed red, yellow and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This had virtually no flavor at all whatsoever. Like others I used olive oil and I let two boneless chicken breasts marinated for 8 hours. They were moist, but had no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I have been looking for a great chicken recipe that wasn't dry. This is it!!! My whole family loved it. I followed the ing other than i left out the butter/oil. I also put it in the marinade last night so it was about 24 hours in it. I also baked it for 50 mins on 350 in a covered dish. Its about 20 outside with over a foot of snow and i am not in the grilling mood. Will try grilling it this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Lawrence, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This tastes just like my mother's marinade, but with a fraction of the oil!I switched out the margerine for olive oil, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fireflyrebel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
It was ok. I only had time to marinate it for about 2 1/2 hours. The flavor was ok, but could be vamped up a little. I may add more hot sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darlington, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Cornell Grilled Chicken

See how to make Dr. Baker’s famous Cornell chicken.

Grilled Tandoori Chicken

Watch Chef John make easy tandoori-style chicken on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States