Vinegar Based BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2000
This is very close to the real thing. vernon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
Excellent! Tastes just like the real thing. Instead of mixing up and then letting it sit for 4 hours, I just stirred into pulled pork and cooked in the crockpot for a few hours. Every last bite was infused with this wonderful vinegar sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
195 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
Delicious - tastes just like the vinegar based sauce at my favorite BBQ place. You really need to be a vinegar fan to like it, though (I am, and this sauce is heaven).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
We have friends in North Carolina and love the bbq there. I have been looing for a recipe and this one is great. You really need to love vinegar to lie this one. I would mae it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This was great--very authentic NC taste. I didn't have time to let it sit for a few hours, so I just blended it and put it in a pan with some cooked pork. Used about half the recipe for 3 cups of pork and it was really strong--just the way we like it! I can imagine it would be better if I allowed the flavors time to blend. As it was though, it was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
HOLY COW!!!! This is incredible. I was craving Parker's BBQ(famous North Carolina BBQ restaurant) and this is the closest I could have gotten. Thank you A SIDE NOTE: I have made this recipe quite a few times since my review. Two points to add, one is that another famous BBQ restaurant in NC is Gardners. This recipe is fairly close, but perhaps more vinegar and hot than Gardners version. The second point is now I use this recipe as a way to use up my left over pork roast. I chop the meat into cubes and simmer on the stove top until meat begins to break down and vinegar is just about gone. LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
I am from NC and this is really close to being the BBQ that I remember. I will be using it all the time now. I won't have to have it shipped to WA state from NC anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
excellant marinade. I bake a whole chicken, pic it, shred it and then marinade in this wonderful concoction! 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
Being a vinegar fan, I was looking forward to trying this sauce. I found it very tasty, but much too salty. I'll try eliminating the salt or cutting it way down next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
Coming from a southern girl, this recipe is fabulous. Reminded me of our trips to the Carolinas. Gave this to a friend as a gift with a boston butt....perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States