Vinegar Based BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This was melt in your mouth yummy. However, I did make a few changes. I marinated my meat in the sauce as is, then when basting I added ketchup and more brown sugar to thicken. Same with dipping sauce. So wonderful. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Pretty good - tangy, spicy, and once it's on the meat it's the perfect strength. I used this in the place of ketchup for sloppy joes, and it was good but needed some thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sebastopol, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
Great recipe! I used this after I lost my grandmother's recipe and the family couldn't tell the difference:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I'm not from the South and I've never had a BBQ sauce like this - but I'm allergic to tomatoes, so I thought I'd try it -- DELICIOUS! I used it with pulled pork and we loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I used this with Sarge's pulled pork recipe on this site. I crocked the pork for 8 hours according to Sarge's recipe, drained the liquid from it, pulled it apart, and then added this vinegar based sauce and let the pork stew in this for another 30-40 minutes. I still used a "tangy spare rib sauce", also from this site by Judy Clark, to use as the topping to the pork in the sandwiches. This vinegar based sauce was great for keeping the meat tender and juicy and kept it from becoming "rubbery". Just wonderful! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKBISHOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This recipe was fantastic! I followed the directions exactly. I made it with Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork BBQ. When the pulled pork had one hour left to cook, I drained the liquid and added this sauce and put it back on low for another hour. Now I can finally stop wishing I was makng a trip to North Carolina just for the BBQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
This is exactly what i was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
Used this to finish the last couple of hours of slow cooking my pork loin, which will be served up as pulled pork sandwiches! It was perfect and really added a punch a flavor. All I did was pour off 90% of the cooking liquid (1 cup coffee and two tablespoons of vinegar) after 5 hours and the last 5 hours will be in this incredible sauce. Served up on toasted buns and carolina slaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fulton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
With all the great reviews, I had to try it and I liked it. And I am a real skeptic when it comes to trying a different sauce than what I was used to...Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2006
wonderful! just like i remembered! i made a pork sholder roast for my husband's birthday this weekend. i shredded it, served the sauce on the side, & a spicy coleslaw. he LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States