Vinegar Based BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This is identical (in my mind) to what I remember eating growing up. Delicious--thanks for sharing! I mixed mine, then froze the bbq w/ sauce in qt-size bags.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
My 11 year old daughter and I made this to go over pulled pork. Actually she made it an I directed. It was great. She received many compliments from the large group we were cooking for. We followed the recipe exactly, doubling it. We warmed in the microwave for about 30-45 seconds before serving. A perfect vinegar sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sojo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
What a great recipe. I was looking for something close to "Parkers" in North Carolina. This was it. I do agree with one of the other people that rated this recipe that adding additional brown sugar helps. I added about 3 times the amount of brown sugar. For a true Eastern North Carolina taste, put it on a hamburger bun along with cole slaw (cole slaw on the bun, not as a side dish).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Woods

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I made this sauce to go with the Kalua pig in a slow cooker recipe also found on AllRecipes, and everyone loved this sauce, they were pouring it on everything. I cut back on the salt a bit and it turned out amazing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Great base! I cut the vinegar back to 3/4 cup and really enjoyed it. When your in the mood for vingegar based...this will do ya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Powderly, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Excellent!My husband grew up in NC and this is just what we were looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Simply AWESOME!!! Great by itself or add it to some yellow mustard for a Carolina mustard sauce. Mixing it with Stubs orginal bbq sauce at 50/50 ratio is fantastic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This was just ok for our families taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaHealthNut

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I just made this with one alteration, I added two tablespoons of brown sugar. Triple A taste. Nice blend of sweet, sour and heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Awesome! Made it as is. I cooked a 4lb. pork sirloin roast all day in the crock-pot in a can of consomme. I cooked this sauce on the stove to dissolve the sugar. About an hour before serving I took out the meat and shredded it with 2 forks, tossing out the fat and grissle. Then I poured out the juices from the crock-pot, replaced the meat, and poured on the sauce and mixed it in real good. I kept it on low until time to eat. Yummy! Just like home! Serve with some grilled buttered texas toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARMY WIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States