Vinegar Based BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
It was good. It was my first time making bbq. I didn't have a pork butt so I slow cooked country style ribs and shredded it. I changed it a little and might need to change it next time I make it. 1 cup of Apple cider vinegar was too much! It tasted too much apple cidery.....I put 1 tablespoon and a half of red pepper flakes and no cayenne pepper. it was nice and spicy. will make again with small changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
This is delicious! It makes the best pulled pork!!! I made this and then added it into the crock pot with some of the juices the meat was cooked in and added the meat again. I let it "talk" for about a half hour on high in the crockpot. Came out wonderful and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I love this sauce. I add a can of tomato paste to thicken the sauce. It has a great flavor. I double the recipe and pour half over the meat 30min before it is finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This immediately put at the top of our "Make Again" pile! It is fantastic. For a healthier option, I boiled and shredded 1 1/5 lb of chicken thighs (to give consistency of traditional BBQ) and 1 1/5 lb boneless chicken breast. Shredded and doubled this recipe. DELICIOUS! Even the hard to convince southern guys ate it right up and came back for 2nds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This was an easy and very tasty recipe. My husband and I lived in NC for 6 years. We were missing the tasty BBQ of NC. This recipe is exactly what NC BBQ tastes like. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
It's not quite the BBQ sauce from our favorite Carolina BBQ restaurant, but it's the closest I've made at home! I used it in the crock pot to make pulled pork for sandwiches - delicious! I was a little scared by the tablespoon (!) of salt, but it really gave the pork great flavor, especially considering we're using it more for marinating/basting than to pour on top of a sandwich. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I made this for a pig roast and it had very good flavor poured over the pork shoulder and tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
easy to make - taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is the sauce for an authentic pig pickin'. You want a sauce to comliment all the work of smoking your pig with apple and oak. You don't want to cover up the taste of your hard work with some tomato or mustard based sauce. Another reviewer put it perfectly, "the body is in the flavor of the meat," not the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States