Vinegar Based BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
What a great recipe. I was looking for something close to "Parkers" in North Carolina. This was it. I do agree with one of the other people that rated this recipe that adding additional brown sugar helps. I added about 3 times the amount of brown sugar. For a true Eastern North Carolina taste, put it on a hamburger bun along with cole slaw (cole slaw on the bun, not as a side dish).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Woods

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I made this sauce to go with the Kalua pig in a slow cooker recipe also found on AllRecipes, and everyone loved this sauce, they were pouring it on everything. I cut back on the salt a bit and it turned out amazing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Great base! I cut the vinegar back to 3/4 cup and really enjoyed it. When your in the mood for vingegar based...this will do ya!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Powderly, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
Excellent!My husband grew up in NC and this is just what we were looking for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
Simply AWESOME!!! Great by itself or add it to some yellow mustard for a Carolina mustard sauce. Mixing it with Stubs orginal bbq sauce at 50/50 ratio is fantastic as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This was just ok for our families taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaHealthNut

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I just made this with one alteration, I added two tablespoons of brown sugar. Triple A taste. Nice blend of sweet, sour and heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Butch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pinellas Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Awesome! Made it as is. I cooked a 4lb. pork sirloin roast all day in the crock-pot in a can of consomme. I cooked this sauce on the stove to dissolve the sugar. About an hour before serving I took out the meat and shredded it with 2 forks, tossing out the fat and grissle. Then I poured out the juices from the crock-pot, replaced the meat, and poured on the sauce and mixed it in real good. I kept it on low until time to eat. Yummy! Just like home! Serve with some grilled buttered texas toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARMY WIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I also mixed together the ingredient and put it in the crockpot with pork shoulder all day. At night we shredded the meat and YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This is exactly what I was looking for! Excellent recipe! I served pulled pork for my entire family (in NC) and EVERYONE loved it! Tastes just like, if not better than, some of the bbq joints down the road. I did cut down a little bit on the salt, probably 1.5 tsp in my triple batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States