Vikki's Red Bean Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Delicious! I put much less pepper in than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bridges Coffey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I followed this almost exactly, except for doubling the garlic, only 1/2t cayenne & just 2 cans of beans (no light red beans). I used long green chiles from a can - mine were pretty mild. From some reviews, the spice was too much? How does anyone cook without tasting how hot something is before adding it to the ingredients? Do they forget you can add more at the end??? This was perfect served on brown rice cooked in chicken bouillon and Doug Matthews' corn bread. This is my go-to from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This has a lot of flavor! We're all diabetic so we ate it like a soup instead of over rice with a nice salad. Wasn't quite hardy enough. Next time I'll add more beans and some okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Excellent. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Good, hearty, and spicy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Served this over rice and it was a big hit with my husband who really likes spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
First I'll caveat, that I made a lot of revisions because I didn't have all the ingredients. This review is based on the flavors in the recipe - they are great! I didn't have red kidney beans so I used one can of cannelloni beans (white kidney beans), and I put some leftover brown and wild rice mix I had in since I was short on beans. I used fresh parsley because I had it. I only used a sprinkle of cayenne because I don't like heat, 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper, and a can of diced green chiles in place of fresh chiles. The flavors were amazing! Even with only a sprinkling of cayenne there was just a touch of heat (perfect for me) so I can't imagine how hot this would be with the full amount plus fresh chilies. I am keeping this - it's a perfect recipe to make as-is (minus some heat) or alter to suit whatever ingredients you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This recipe was quite tasty! I used summer sausage and also added in a little bit of shredded chicken. It definitely does have a kick to it, but a nice one! I actually served this with stone ground grits (cooked thick) instead of rice and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This recipe is phenomenal! I'll definitely be making this again. I subbed vegetarian italian sausage for the meat, and used a small can of green chiles like others--it tasted fantastic, and fed for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boogerzombie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I love the taste, I omitted the green chile peppers. The flavorful heat was still there. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States