Vikki's Red Bean Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2000
Wow...definately spicy, would cut back on the Cayenne pepper a bit. My husband said this is a keeper. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2000
To tone down the "hotness" of this dish, eliminate the cayenne pepper and cerrano or jalapeno peppers. Substitute with 2 cans (15 ounce) cans diced tomatoes with green chilies, with liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
Was there anything bad about this recipe? We LOVED it! We served it over rice and used cornbread as a side. This was excellent in flavor and in substance. I will make it again because it won raves from my whole family. We did have to give the kids milk to drink, because they said it was too spicy, but they still ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
Served this at a family dinner with many red beans and rice lovers.....they thought this tasted excellent and ate every bit! Too spicy for the little kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2001
if you do not like spicey food omit the chile peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2001
Good with ham instead of sausage, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2001
Very easy and good served over white rice. Way too spicy for kids though...I too left out the chili peppers and bought the tomatoes with the chili's already in them (Rotel style). Also could have cut the cayene pepper in half to make it more kid friendly. My husband and I loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2001
it's a hit! but i also added 1lb of ground turkey to make it more filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I took suggestions from other reviewers and omitted the cayenne pepper and used Rotel sytle tomatoes with chiles and peppers. I used all pinto beans because I'm don't care for kidney beans. My family loved it except for my son who still thought it was too hot. Making it again for dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
Vikki, Your recepie was a hit! My husband loves hot and spicy food. I have been married two years and this is the first hot and spicy recipie that my husband loved right away. I did leave out some of the beans. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States