Vikki's Red Bean Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This was fabulous! I subbed in a 4-oz can of chopped green chiles for the 5 chili peppers called for and it worked wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
Very good! I used canned green chilies and kielbasa for the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
OUTSTANDING! My wife and I loved it! It was easy to make, and had that great Creole taste! It is a steady on our menu and it freezes very well for an easy after work dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This was a great quick and easy recipe!!! I found the oil to be unnecessary, as the grease from the sausage was more than enough to sautee the onion...it worked great. Like others suggested, I used only 1 can each of the beans (perfect amount), in addition adding an extra can of tomatoes and used diced with jalepanos to spice it up a bit. I also substituted 4 serrano chiles for the 5 regular (it was hot, but a GOOD burn!) and used 5 cloves of garlic. Turned out I didn't have any parsley, but I don't think the dish suffered too much as a result. It was awesome served with 7 grain wild rice that I cooked in chicken broth, 1/2 tsp chile powder, 1 tsp garlic salt, and a dash of old bay. Thanks victoria!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANCHGIRL_59714

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I should have listened to Vikki's warning about the chile peppers. It's an easy to make, attractive dish, but WOW is it hot - almost inedible - and I like spicy food. Next time, I'm omitting the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2000
To tone down the "hotness" of this dish, eliminate the cayenne pepper and cerrano or jalapeno peppers. Substitute with 2 cans (15 ounce) cans diced tomatoes with green chilies, with liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
Wow!!! Great meal! My husband and I go to New Orleans several times a year and he has been telling everyone this is the best he has ever had. I used 2 cans of chunky rotel tomatoes and it was the perfect heat for us. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Holey-moley, this was as hot as Dante's Inferno! And I am from SOUTHERN Texas!!! I am making it again tonight, as it is VERY good, but I will be leaving out some of the heat! Whew! If you're from up north, you've been warned. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This is a hot one but very flavorful. I added about half a cup of chicken broth for more liquid and I omitted the salt. If you go a little easy with the peppers it will still have a nice kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2001
Very easy and good served over white rice. Way too spicy for kids though...I too left out the chili peppers and bought the tomatoes with the chili's already in them (Rotel style). Also could have cut the cayene pepper in half to make it more kid friendly. My husband and I loved it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States