Vikki's Red Bean Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
This recipe is WONDERFUL...i'd been itching to try something cajun for a long time....and this was the perfect recipe to cut my teeth on..... i will be making it when my husband's family comes into town next week... fairly inexpensive and very easy to make....i made it even easier by using 2 cans of Rotel (diced tomatoes and green chiles) in place of the canned tomatoes and fresh chiles cause my grocer didn't have the right kind of chile peppers....still came out wonderful....i even added more spices to it!! but we like it hot! If the spices are measured exactly as in the recipe, the effect is a moderate heat....but i have to say this is the BEST recipe i have tried so far i think....definitely one of our favorites....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMDAILEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2003
Even without the onion and green pepper (which I didn't have) this was a very tasty recipe. I added some seasoning to suit our taste and served it over white rice. We loved it, and I know I will serve it again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
Holey-moley, this was as hot as Dante's Inferno! And I am from SOUTHERN Texas!!! I am making it again tonight, as it is VERY good, but I will be leaving out some of the heat! Whew! If you're from up north, you've been warned. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
This was fabulous! I subbed in a 4-oz can of chopped green chiles for the 5 chili peppers called for and it worked wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
This was sensational. It was significantly spicy but everyone loved it. My 3 year old even had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
This was very good. I would probably use about 1/2 the cayenne pepper next time as it was a little too spicy for us. Very hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
This is a hot one but very flavorful. I added about half a cup of chicken broth for more liquid and I omitted the salt. If you go a little easy with the peppers it will still have a nice kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I should have listened to Vikki's warning about the chile peppers. It's an easy to make, attractive dish, but WOW is it hot - almost inedible - and I like spicy food. Next time, I'm omitting the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Charles, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
Very good! I used canned green chilies and kielbasa for the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
OUTSTANDING! My wife and I loved it! It was easy to make, and had that great Creole taste! It is a steady on our menu and it freezes very well for an easy after work dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States