Vikki's Red Bean Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2004
This was very good...my hubby says it is a keeper but I must warn all...the kids had a hard time with it since it is so spicy. I suggest you tone down the hot stuff a bit if you have lightweights in the house! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenner, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
Fantastic!!! Very spicy - might change the cayanne amount but fantastic otherwise!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
This was a great quick and easy recipe!!! I found the oil to be unnecessary, as the grease from the sausage was more than enough to sautee the onion...it worked great. Like others suggested, I used only 1 can each of the beans (perfect amount), in addition adding an extra can of tomatoes and used diced with jalepanos to spice it up a bit. I also substituted 4 serrano chiles for the 5 regular (it was hot, but a GOOD burn!) and used 5 cloves of garlic. Turned out I didn't have any parsley, but I don't think the dish suffered too much as a result. It was awesome served with 7 grain wild rice that I cooked in chicken broth, 1/2 tsp chile powder, 1 tsp garlic salt, and a dash of old bay. Thanks victoria!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANCHGIRL_59714

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
Excellent! This came out VERY spicy. Soooo Good!! I added extra fresh Garlic, cause I always do. (Garlic lovers here). Also, used Rotel canned tomatoes with peppers. Added a can of Chicken stock because it was a little dry. Woooo baby ! Absolutely wonderful ! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
this was a great recipe! I had to add a few cans of water so that it wasn't so dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
WOW! This was SOOOO good and tasty! DEFINITELY VERY HOT AND SPICY THOUGH...WILL make again! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
This recipe was absolutly wonderful! The only thing I did different from the recipes was use 1 can of the dark kidney beans. Not greasy and not a heavy dish. Very tasty. Be prepared though....this is a hot one! Thansk so much for such a fabulous dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
Awesome!!! I chopped two jalepenos from my garden and it was plenty hot! I also used an old fashioned potato masher and "smashed" it up as it simmered. I love Popeye's and I actually thought this was better than theirs!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2003
I didn't think my hubby would enjoy this because he's somewhat picky, but we both had second helpings. I served this over rice and used smoked habanero and green chile sausage, which has a "little" bite but is not hot. I also threw in a 4 oz can of chopped green chilies and omitted the chili peppers and cayenne all together. I used one less can of kidney beans than called for and used fresh parsley. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
this ones a winner and so easy to make!!!!thanx for a great quick recipe that can feed a crowd!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Perri Pender

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States