Vikki's Red Bean Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
Yum! I kept in mind the advice of others and toned down the heat a little. I used andouille sausage and sautéed one jalapeno along with the green pepper instead of adding the chili peppers at the end. I also used fresh parsley, smoked paprika, one tsp chili powder instead of cayenne and one tsp black pepper instead of one tbsp. I also used fresh tomatoes from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
This is fantastic! My husband and I agree that this is one of the best recipes I have found. Great with crusty french "take and bake" bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
yummy; I will throw away all those other red bean 'n rice recipes. I used chili powder rather than fresh chilis. Watch the heat and adjust to your likin'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
i love this recipe. my family loves it. it's one of those i send to friends b/c it's so good. sometimes i get sick of chicken.... i make it as is, excepting the few changes for personal taste. no bell pepper, and less cayenne, less chiles. i always use polish kielbasa instead of sausage b/c i can. i even tried it with the low-fat p.kielbasa a couple days ago and couldn't tell a bit. delicious served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
This was very tasty. My husband really enjoyed this. He likes spicy foods and I'm not quite as fond of spicy, however this recipe was just about perfect. This will be a repeat meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiAnn Keenan

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
I liked the consistency and flavor of this dish, but I must confess that this was too spicy for my husband and me. My children, however, ages 16, 19 & 25 couldn't get enough of it. They loved it. I, too, served it with rice and corn bread. Very enjoyable. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
Excellent. I prefer it with half the amount of sausage and about 3-4 times the amount of vegetables. I use canned chopped green chiles in place of the fresh chiles to save time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Really good meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I used about half of the kidney beans and less of the spices but this still was a little too spicy for me. My husband liked it more. It's good served with rice or a baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BES166

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Definitely worth 5 stars! I cut the recipe in half and made just a few changes. I used two teaspoons of Tony Chachere's Creole Seasoning in place of the spices listed and a can of Rotel tomatoes rather than using separate cans of tomatoes and chiles. I also stirred in approx. 2 cups of cooked brown rice. It smelled heavenly while simmering on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Immokalee, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States