Vikki's Red Bean Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellysc99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This has to be one of the tastiest ways to prepare smoked sausage! I halved the recipe as I didn't want 14 servings - only one can of beans (red, not kidney) but a whole can of tomatoes. I skipped the chile peppers and cayenne because the jalapeno flavored smoked sausage I used was enough "hot" as far as I was concerned... Delicious with sweet cornbread and iced tea. mmm mmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
We really enjoyed this! I used two 14 oz. packages of smoked reduced fat sausage, one green bell pepper, one red bell pepper, one onion, two 14 oz cans of diced tomatoes, a 4 oz can of diced chilis, a can of black beans, a can of kidney beans and all the recommended spices (doubled) EXCEPT that I only used about 1/2 tsp of black pepper, NO cayenne, and smoked paprika in place of regular. I added 1/2 a cup of water while cooking. We served it with chicken flavored rice a roni and surprisingly it tasted very good today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenelle D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Holy cow!!! Was this ever HOT (REALLY HOT)!!! Made this for dinner a couple of nights ago. My bf did not come over, so I decided to make red beans & rice for myself while I had the chance (he doesn't like the stuff). Unfortunately, I didn't want to save what was left (I 1/2'd the recipe anticipating leftovers for tomorrow's lunch/dinner). This was just too hot for me.... Being that I can't try anything w/o making changes to it, I did make a few slight alterations to suit my tastes. I really wanted to try Authentic Louisiana Red Beans & Rice by Miami Beach, but didn't have time to simmer for 3 hrs. (nor had I prepared ahead of time to soak beans overnight), so I went w/ this recipe. To compensate for what I felt this recipe was lacking, I added 1 t thyme, 1/4 t sage & 2 sm. bay leaves w/ the other spices. I also upped the amt. of garlic to 1 T (I wanted to use up my last 4 cloves). I used a 19 oz. can of red kidney beans & a 10 oz. can of Rotel diced tomatoes w/ grn. chilies original version (should have used mild...). I would have added a couple stalks of chopped celery, but mine was limp despite trying to "revive" it by soaking in ice H20 (darn!). I used Chef Bruce Aidelle's cajun style andouille sausage. My only other change was adding a bit of chx. broth (~ 1/4 c. worth) to the bean/sausage mix. b/c it seemed a tad dry. Served over white rice w/ Golden Sweet Cornbread by bluegirl on the side & southern sweet tea (and LOTS of it!) to wash it all down. Thx. for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Terrific red bean recipe! I also added about 2 cups chopped leftover ham and some celery to the saute. Also added about 2 tablespoons hot pepper sauce as we like it very spicy. Hubby had thirds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Very flavorful and easy. I omitted the green chilis since I used hot style sausage. I added 3 stalks of celery and hald a red pepper (items I had on hand) and juts one can of pinto beans. I served it with a packet of red beans and rice mix. Wonderful week night dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
This is great! I have been making it for a few years now, and I only use 1 can of beans(I don't bother rinsing/draining them) and I use 1 large can of diced tomatoes with green chilies in place of the 2 cans of tomatoes. I also leave out the cayenne so it's not too hot for my little ones. Great with rice or fried potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is on of our all-time favorite recipes! We make it at least once a month. We have found that if we double the meat (2 lbs. of sausage) we can get two meals out of one recipe. We also reduce the beans by one can. Two cans seems to be plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
easy and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA
Living In: Troutdale, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
Wonderful flavor. Used the rotel tomatoes as another reviewer suggested. It was really a nice quick meal. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durant, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Smoked Sausage & Peppers

Enjoy the bold, delicious flavors of smoked sausage and peppers.

Smoked Sausage White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple smoked sausage and white bean chili in just minutes.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States