Vikki's Red Bean Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I love the taste, I omitted the green chile peppers. The flavorful heat was still there. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Excellent! For my family's taste, a sprinkle of cayenne was enough and I used smoked paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
This is by far the best red beans and rice I've ever made! I put just a dash of cayenne instead of a tsp. and I added a little cajun seasoning. I also threw in a chunk of honey baked ham. I used rotel tomatoes in place of fresh green peppers. I also added a bay leaf and cooked it all in a crock pot. I served it over rice and it was sooooo good! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Agata
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
delicious and spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Agata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This one's a keeper very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debtill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Great dish. I used the canned green peppers and found the dish to be a bit spicey but my husband loved it. I controlled the heat by using more rice. We used Jasmine rice the first day and brown rice for left overs. I did find it was less hot no day two. I don't like spicey food and I loved it. Planning on making it again tomorrow for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Farrell
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This one will really wake up your taste buds. WOW!! This is really spicy and very filling. It was just me and hubby again for dinner so I scaled this down. I figured the polska kielbasa was greasy enough so I did not add the vegetable oil. 1 used the entire can of reduced sodium kidney beans and a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chilies. The longer you let this sit and simmer, the hotter it gets. Served this with a garden/dinner salad and it was perfect. My mouth is still on fire. Next time, I will substitute a can of black beans for the red.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Vikki's Red Bean Sausage Haiku: "Magical bean meal! Creole taste of bean-ey yum. I will make again." Oh Vikki, thank you so much for your fantastic recipe. I didn't alter it very much, w/ the exception of using fresh parsley (roughly 1/4 c. finely-chopped), adding 1/4 c. diced celery (Cajun-ey meal called for veggie-trinity in the saute), and using a small can diced green chile peppers. Oh wow, was this good! I also scaled it to half, and 3 of us devoured the entire thing over our steaming plates of basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
This was a very nice dish. I only used 1 can of red beans and subbed canned chile peppers instead of fresh. Like other reviewers noted, do watch the heat on this with the chiles and cayenne. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
This was pretty good, but somehow after the simmering, the dish became a little sweet. I used one can of beans, half the cayenne, and one 4oz can of diced green chiles in place of the fresh. It was plenty spicy and tasted great before simmering, but the slight sweetness turned me off of the recipe. I added a splash of white vinegar, but that didn't change the flavor. Perhaps that's the cajun style. I think a lot of folks like a little sweetness though and will enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States