Vikki's Red Bean Sausage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Delicious! I put much less pepper in than the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Bridges Coffey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I followed this almost exactly, except for doubling the garlic, only 1/2t cayenne & just 2 cans of beans (no light red beans). I used long green chiles from a can - mine were pretty mild. From some reviews, the spice was too much? How does anyone cook without tasting how hot something is before adding it to the ingredients? Do they forget you can add more at the end??? This was perfect served on brown rice cooked in chicken bouillon and Doug Matthews' corn bread. This is my go-to from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
VEGETARIAN VERSION: Made this with the Field Roast Chipotle Vegetarian Sausage and Hunt's Spicy Red Pepper diced tomatoes, but no jalapeno and no cayenne and it was still on the hot side, and I like hot food. So, if you use the chipotle sausage, use regular canned diced tomatoes. If you use regular sausage, maybe just use the cayenne. No need for jalapeno, any way you cut it. Regardless, it was very good. Just hot the way I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrimisu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This has a lot of flavor! We're all diabetic so we ate it like a soup instead of over rice with a nice salad. Wasn't quite hardy enough. Next time I'll add more beans and some okra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Excellent. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by penni73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Good, hearty, and spicy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Served this over rice and it was a big hit with my husband who really likes spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
First I'll caveat, that I made a lot of revisions because I didn't have all the ingredients. This review is based on the flavors in the recipe - they are great! I didn't have red kidney beans so I used one can of cannelloni beans (white kidney beans), and I put some leftover brown and wild rice mix I had in since I was short on beans. I used fresh parsley because I had it. I only used a sprinkle of cayenne because I don't like heat, 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper, and a can of diced green chiles in place of fresh chiles. The flavors were amazing! Even with only a sprinkling of cayenne there was just a touch of heat (perfect for me) so I can't imagine how hot this would be with the full amount plus fresh chilies. I am keeping this - it's a perfect recipe to make as-is (minus some heat) or alter to suit whatever ingredients you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
This recipe was quite tasty! I used summer sausage and also added in a little bit of shredded chicken. It definitely does have a kick to it, but a nice one! I actually served this with stone ground grits (cooked thick) instead of rice and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This recipe is phenomenal! I'll definitely be making this again. I subbed vegetarian italian sausage for the meat, and used a small can of green chiles like others--it tasted fantastic, and fed for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boogerzombie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Cotechino Pork Sausage and Braised Beans

See how to make a sensational braised pork sausage and white bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States