Vietnamese/Chinese Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This recipe is okay. I had the servings changed, and it was very difficult to figure out some of the measurements for the smaller size (I am single, so I don't need or want 6 servings). Also, knowing that I don't like very sweet main dishes, I did not include the brown sugar, though I slightly increased the honey (it called for 2/3 TBSP and I put in a whole TBSP) thinking that I didn't want to mess with the recipe too much. I had two problems. One, it was STILL too sweet for me. Two, the cooking time was off. I ended up with the second side completely blackened, and the pork itself was way overcooked and dry. If I did this again, I'd eliminate the honey entirely, add more spice (either using hot chili oil or hot peppers or both), and cook it over lower heat and possibly for a shorter amount of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plover, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
Excellent recipe even with thick pork loin. Should heat up remaining marinade to serve over sliced pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was very disappointing. The flavors lack a "brightness" and a "spicy" component that I really enjoy with Asian dishes. I thought the lemongrass would help with the brightness, but it didn't/ There was too much sweetness and not enough balance with the marinade. If you are going to try this recipe, I agree with another review, substitute the sesame oil with chili oil. I would also add in some pepper and some lime. As for the cooking time and temp - this is way off. on medium-high heat for 4 minutes per side is way too much. About 90 seconds each side and it will be done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
My husband and I LOVE the marinade for this! It tastes so good with boneless chicken breasts as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
very tasty! i was missing the ginger, shallots, lemongrass, and five spice powder but decided to make it anyways and it still turned out great! and i pan fried it because i already put away the grill for the season... hmmm hmmm good! i'm asian and can attest these are authentic tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was a lot of work for pork chops, but I think it was worth it. I substituted the vegetable oil in the marinade with hot chili oil, green scallions for the called for scallions, and I left out the salt. Mine burned on the bottom on med-high, so next time I will cook it on medium heat with more frequent turns. Left overs were also exquisitely delicious as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Very good pork chops- These are similar to what my husband and I get at our local vietnamese restaurant. This is our regular go-to recipe for pork chops, and is especially great on the grill! I wouldn't change a thing! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Just made this marinade and I'm blown away how wonderful it is...Years ago my husband and I went to Las Vegas and had these thin Vietnamese pork chops that were just incredible...I finally know how to make them! Thank you for sharing! I'll also be using this marinade on some Mahi Mahi...Its amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This was an excellent marinade. Granted, I took a couple of liberties, like adding Vietnamese Chili Paste and using it on chicken instead of pork, but it was fantastic, and my family loved it. They can't wait until I make it the next time; I had to fight them away from my griddle while I was cooking because the smell was so intoxicating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewisville, Texas, USA
Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I can't wait until we eat this! I've just finished making the marinate and it is EXACTLY what I was aiming for - it smells so delicious! Summer bbq here we come. Note: these were delicious sliced up and served with rice noodles, shredded carrot, cucumber, bean sprouts, peanuts. On their own, they would be a bit sweet for me, but very tasty. My 2-year old said "yummy!" and that is a bonus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Grilled Pork Chops

See how to make a sensational marinade for grilled pork chops.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States