Vietnamese Style Vegetarian Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is good! Used spicy curry powder and added a couple of serano peppers. Didn't have lemon grass but tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NREM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sobieski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
this came out really good and super spicy.. and this is coming from 2 ppl who love spicy.. didn't have shallots so i used green onion instead.. didn't have lemon grass or kaffir lime leaves.. so i used most of the zest & juice of a lemon.. only had red bell pepper.. used chicken broth instead of vegetable stock and added a little more boulion as it tasted like it needed a bit more salt.. i used the fresh ginger but it tasted like it was going to be too overpowering so it only got to be in the soup for a hot second.. used soy sauce instead of fish sauce.. only had soft tofu so i couldn't really fry it before putting it in.. but it still came out fine.. chopped up the cilantro and had it cook with the rest of the veggies.. i used the entire liquid amount but just cooked it longer to reduce it down to make it more like a stew.. i didn't see the comment about using half.. oh well.. ty for the recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FIREMOM71
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
WONDERFUL! super flavorful I slurped up the broth at the end. I couldn't find Kaffir lime leaves so I shredded just a bit of lime zest in. I did reduce the water amount by 2 cups as others suggested. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREMOM71

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Delicious! Didn't use the fish sauce or kaffir lime leaves, but only because I didn't have them handy. Used the recommended liquids, but then ladled things out to serve more of a stew. Definitely a dish where you can mix and match, although I don't think I'll ever make this without the lemon grass stalk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Pretty tasty, but next time I will not be putting in the red pepper flakes, and I will probably add another can of coconut milk to make it creamier. The red pepper flakes make it extrememly spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
A winner Served at my wine tasting and was a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I make this often for the fam. The leftovers make for great lunches. The first few times I couldn't find kaffir leaves and lemon grass. I've recently found a source for both. Although the dish is great without the lemon grass and kaffir, the ingredients really add a awesome depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Delicious curry. Very runny so best served with rice. I even added a little flour to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Good, but I made a lot of revisions to it to make it more like my mom's recipe :) I didn't use any shallots, skipped the kefir leaf, used a red bell pepper instead of green, used 4 carrots intead of 2, 4c chicken broth, no water, no fish sauce or pepper flakes, 3 bay leaves instead of 1, 4 medium potatoes and 1 sweet potato instead of the 8 small ones, and 2 cans coconut milk. I also added some salt and some Sriracha to taste. Delicious! My boyfriend is a huge fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Very Delicious! I cut back 1 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. I couldn't find kaffir lime leaves, so I squeezed one fresh lemon juice. Added 1 (16 oz) can of chunky pineapple with a side dish of white rice. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States