Vietnamese Style Vegetarian Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This is very good, I have made it several times. If you can find it, don't skimp on the lemongrass, I found this too be the best thing about the soup. I did add the vegetarian fish sauce, but I think it would be just as good without, and this is a weird ingredient to find (Mine was mushroom based).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
This is mine and my girlfriend's and my sister's favorite soup ever. I can't begin to explain. Just make it and eat it. And it's so healthy... and on and on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This was a wonderful and complex soup, very forgiving of the substitutions I made. I used a combination of Maharajah and Thai curry powders, used the zest of one lime for the Kaffir lime leaves, added soy sauce instead of fish sauce, added about a tablespoon of sugar, and added a chile pepper instead of the red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
We loved this! I left out the mushrooms, substituted 2 large cubed sweet potatoes for the regular potatoes, and added a handful of curry leaves. Also I didn't fry the tofu, I used firm tofu diced into small cubes. We couldn't stop eating it! Great the next day reheated too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
A lot of work, but well worth it. Very tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by twinkle
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
Instead of Potatoes, i added cauliflower and the curry tasted sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twinkle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
I LOVE vietnamese food, but I wasn't really impressed with this as a soup, but when I added some rice noodles (rice stick) it made a great noodle dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
I used lite coconut milk and red, orange, and green peppers and it came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
This is the best vietnamese style soup I've ever had! It is better than anything I've had in a restaurant. I couldn't find whole lemon grass stalks so I used frozen chopped lemon grass instead ( about 1 1/2 tablespoons). I also don't much like cilantro so I skippped that and the bean sprouts.I couldn't find a vietnamese style curry powder so I used an oriental fish and vegetable curry powder I bought at my asian grocery store. I froze the tofu for 72 hours before using it, pressed it to eliminate the excess water, and deep fried it to give it a very chewy texture and to prevent it from falling apart in the soup. I also added a few tablespoons of starch to the soup to thicken it a bit. It is fabulous served over brown rice vermicceli. Enjoy, I know I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Must have messed something up. I've had really good curry noodle soup, but this one wasn't so great. Couldn't finish it in fact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States