Vietnamese Style Vegetarian Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Wowie - this is fantastic! I made the recipe pretty much as stated, except added a little bit of vermicelli pasta at the end and added dried red chilis (4 - I like it hot!) for the pepper flakes. Also subbed a can of mock duck for the tofu. Amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Julie
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
great recipe! one you can work off of and play with. Instead of mushrooms we used green beans, and for potatoes, we used sweet potatoes and Japanese yams, and basil instead of cilantro. it was delicious! will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
It was really good. I substituted cauliflower for mushrooms due to a guest's preference, and added Vietnamese Rice Stick noodles. It got rave reviews despite me accidentally dumping a ton of red pepper on and having to scoop it out as best I could, and will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
The kaffir lime leaves, lemon grass and fish sauce really gives this a truly authentic taste. I am not vegetarian, so I put in almost a whole boiled chicken to my soup stock and did not purchase fried tofu or fry the tofu. I cut fresh tofu into little cubes (about 1/4 of an inch)- like little cubes of cheese. Yummy. This is such a comforting and easy soup and the modifications are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cookworm

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
This was deeeelicious! However, I found the tofu frying process to be a pain. I will certainly make this again, but I'll leave out the tofu. The potatos give it plenty of texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roslyn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2008
WUW!!! Maybe the ingredients are slightly different over here in the UK - red pepper flakes (I used chilli flakes?) etc.... but this blew my head off, made my eye-lids sweat! Superb :) I used the 2xtblsp curry powder, 2xtblspn red thai paste suggestion. Nice and quick to make... I didn't have mushrooms so ignored that bit.. but in total the preparation time was about 25 mins, including frying the tofu. Left it to simmer for around 45mins. Stonking recipe for those who like it hot. Cut out the chilli flakes if want to keep your lips..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I either read the wrong recipe or the other reviewers and I have extremely opposite tastes. There are so many problems with the soup I'm not sure where to start but the most obvious seems to be with the amount of curry powder. Even with the water, broth and coconut milk the stock just tastes chalky and the coconut flavour is entirely lost. If I make this again it will involve some major changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
this was not good for me. It was watery and the green peppers and mushrooms were just weird in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
This didn't blow me away but I would still recommend making. I left out the potates and carrots and used chicken instead of tofu. I'm freezing the remainder so I'm sure it will be even better the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dermott, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Chester Springs, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States