Vietnamese Style Vegetarian Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
I used lite coconut milk and red, orange, and green peppers and it came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
This is the best vietnamese style soup I've ever had! It is better than anything I've had in a restaurant. I couldn't find whole lemon grass stalks so I used frozen chopped lemon grass instead ( about 1 1/2 tablespoons). I also don't much like cilantro so I skippped that and the bean sprouts.I couldn't find a vietnamese style curry powder so I used an oriental fish and vegetable curry powder I bought at my asian grocery store. I froze the tofu for 72 hours before using it, pressed it to eliminate the excess water, and deep fried it to give it a very chewy texture and to prevent it from falling apart in the soup. I also added a few tablespoons of starch to the soup to thicken it a bit. It is fabulous served over brown rice vermicceli. Enjoy, I know I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Must have messed something up. I've had really good curry noodle soup, but this one wasn't so great. Couldn't finish it in fact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cory R. King

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
This recipe is great! Add a little more ginger if you want that tingling at the back of your throat. Also used coconut cream + water instead of coconut milk. I skipped the potatoes and lime leaves. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
It was just great! Flowerful, tasty , reach, good looking soup - everything you need for a winternight dinner. I excluded potatoes (that reduced the duration of the cook time) and added a thin sliced chicken breast, one handful of cooked shrimps and one handful of snow peas - all that in the last 3-5 minutes of the cooking ( I'm not vegeterian so I can allow to myself a little bit of meat). It became my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2003
Excellent recipe. I made it with the full amount of liquid and it was wonderful. It freezes well, too!! (I make my own frozen dinners for lunch & dinner) If you like rice, it’s good over rice. If not, it’s great by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
This was great! I made it for my roomates and a few friends that came over. Everyone loved it and it was very filling. I could not find some of the ingredents so I improvised. I used green onions instead of Shallots (one whole bunch), I alos used lime zest and juice instead of the kaffir lime leaves, and I used lemon juice instead of the lemon grass. I also used soy sauce instead of the fish sauce. The soy sause really gave it a distinct flavor. I didn't fry my tofu and it still tasted great. I used one reviewers suggestion and used sweet potato intead of regular patatos and it tasted great. The bean sprouts and cilantro added on top was wonderful it added a new texture and taste. Great recipe I will definatly keep this in the recipe box and make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uhall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
This was delicious - fragrant and creamy. I followed the suggestion of reducing the water and broth by half to make it more creamy and stew-like, rather than like a soup. I did make some changes: used two tbls. of Madras curry powder and two tbls. of Thai red curry paste, instead of the 4 tbls. of curry powder. Didn't add the red pepper flakes and substituted reduced sodium soy sauce for the fish sauce. Added one large sweet potato instead of the 8 regular potatoes and used lite coconut milk...still creamy and delicious! I let it simmer for about 1.5 - 2 hours and the house smelled so good! The directions didn't specify when to add the kaffir lime leaves and bay leaf, so I threw them in right before I started the "simmer" process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
This is a great recipe. I like to serve it over some rice, or Vietnamese rice noodles, though it's also a meal all its own. I was searching for a Vietnamese Curry Soup that would replicate the one at the Saigon restaurant in Santa Fe - but this soup is even better than theirs! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
Great soup. Very flavorful. We used lime juice and zest which added another layer of flavor. I would also add more coconut milk but I did use low fat so that may have made a difference. Made it with a vietnamese rice vermicelli salad. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aphrodite Sauser

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States