Vietnamese Style Vegetarian Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I'm not sure where I went wrong. I followed this recipe almost to the letter, however it ended up very watery and not creamy. I had to omit the lemon grass, and used soy sauce in place of fish sauce. It turned out to be curried water. Might try again with less water and the fish sauce. Not sure what to do with this curried water now, and wondering what I'm going to make for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
I made a few modifications to this, such as using the zest and juice of one lime instead of kaffir leaves, doubling the lemongrass, omitting the onion and carrot (I didn't have any around), substituting 2 T. soy sauce for the fish sauce, and three medium sweet potatoes for the potatoes. I also halved the red pepper flakes - heat can always be added, if necessary. Overall, I think the lemon/lime character of the recipe is a bit lacking, but I found that the longer the lemongrass simmered, the stronger its flavor came through. Everything else is very nice, though, and I think this recipe is a great template for experimentation. I also added large chunks of tomato, and used fresh shitake mushrooms instead of the boring button or crimini mushrooms. Recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This was very, very good. I followed the recipe to a tee except that I only put in 1 tbsp of fish sauce. There was some heat due to the red pepper flakes, but it was a pleasant amount of heat. Lots of fun to make and not hard - just lots of slicing! Paired with spring rolls, it was a good dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I goofed up and used another type of curry sauce, and I couldn't find the lime leaves. Don't make it with regular curry sauce! I will try again with the right kind of curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
This turned out with OK flavour, but was very watery, not very creamy. It needs quite a dose of salt. Probably wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
this recipe needs a bit of modification.. i'm use to the chicken curry soup but since this is vegetarian i thought it was okay. my mom told me the curry powder i used was "bad" i can't tell the difference.. there were so many selections in the stores.. oriental/indian/spicy/super spicy/mild +100 plus, no kidding there was a whole ISLE just for curry powder/paste. i used the indian kind because there was alot of them i figured the demand for that product must be high.. and also the soup needs alot of salt!!! the veggies came out great though. i ate all the potatoes and carrots!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I made this into chicken curry soup because I had a couple of chicken breast to use up. I just added the chicken when I was sauteing the onions and I subbed chicken stock for vegetable stock. It has a great curry flavor. I will make two changes for next time. I will add the red and green peppers later in the process, probably just before the potatoes and I will cut the stock and water in half to make it thicker. I like soups like this closer to the consistancy of stew than soup, but that is just my preference. This soup was awesome with some cooked jasmine rice add in to the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bud W

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This was a delicious, flavorful soup/stew with just a couple of small changes. I added an extra tablespoon of curry powder, subbed fresh green beans for the mushrooms and used light coconut milk. Once the soup was cooked, I also added the juice from a whole lime rather than the lime leaves. The bean sprouts added some nice crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
This recipe was very good, but didn't turn out like I had hoped. I think that I need to find a better curry powder and I would thoroughly enjoy this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
One of my favorite soups so far this winter! I added crushed coriander seed and mustard seed to the first step, used Madras curry and a whole dried hot pepper, added red bell pepper with the green one and used new red potatoes. I don't have tofu and can't find lemon grass or lime leaves around here so used the zest of one lemon and a lime. Also no sprouts (wish I had some though!) I WILL be making this again!!! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States