Vietnamese Style Vegetarian Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I'm surprised at all the great reviews of this recipe! But maybe my little modifications ruined it. It was okay and might be good with some tweaking. What didn't work: far too spicy, I would halve the red pepper flakes; watery, definitely use less water, which i did after reading reviews; needs more lemongrass; and the recipe doesn't say when to add the bay or kaffir lime leaves. I didn't have the vietnamese curry so i used madras. I did like this recipe, but won't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Delicious vegetarian meal! Could easily use chicken instead of the tofu. I used Thai curry as I couldn't find Vietnamese curry at our grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
Easy enough recipe... First go at it, I left out some water & added a Poblano pepper to pirk it up a bit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leben

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is good! Used spicy curry powder and added a couple of serano peppers. Didn't have lemon grass but tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NREM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sobieski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
this came out really good and super spicy.. and this is coming from 2 ppl who love spicy.. didn't have shallots so i used green onion instead.. didn't have lemon grass or kaffir lime leaves.. so i used most of the zest & juice of a lemon.. only had red bell pepper.. used chicken broth instead of vegetable stock and added a little more boulion as it tasted like it needed a bit more salt.. i used the fresh ginger but it tasted like it was going to be too overpowering so it only got to be in the soup for a hot second.. used soy sauce instead of fish sauce.. only had soft tofu so i couldn't really fry it before putting it in.. but it still came out fine.. chopped up the cilantro and had it cook with the rest of the veggies.. i used the entire liquid amount but just cooked it longer to reduce it down to make it more like a stew.. i didn't see the comment about using half.. oh well.. ty for the recipe =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FIREMOM71
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
WONDERFUL! super flavorful I slurped up the broth at the end. I couldn't find Kaffir lime leaves so I shredded just a bit of lime zest in. I did reduce the water amount by 2 cups as others suggested. I will make this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREMOM71

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Delicious! Didn't use the fish sauce or kaffir lime leaves, but only because I didn't have them handy. Used the recommended liquids, but then ladled things out to serve more of a stew. Definitely a dish where you can mix and match, although I don't think I'll ever make this without the lemon grass stalk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Pretty tasty, but next time I will not be putting in the red pepper flakes, and I will probably add another can of coconut milk to make it creamier. The red pepper flakes make it extrememly spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
A winner Served at my wine tasting and was a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I make this often for the fam. The leftovers make for great lunches. The first few times I couldn't find kaffir leaves and lemon grass. I've recently found a source for both. Although the dish is great without the lemon grass and kaffir, the ingredients really add a awesome depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States