Vietnamese-Style Chicken Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2001
WOW! This soup is excellent! The fresh ginger, lime leaves and lemon grass really compliment the curry and give it that "South East Asia" flavor. It is a lot of work chopping everything up, but if you don't, you'll never get to experience the pure wonder and joy of fresh curry. I went overboard and threw on a handful of fresh bean sprouts as a garnish. This recipe has become my new and final favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2001
We made this a vegetarian recipe by substituting tofu for the chicken, and by using a vegetarian substitute for fish sauce. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2001
This soup is astounding. Creamy and spicy. Just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
Very yummy! My husband, who is Vietnamese, liked it too. It was missing a little something, but I think it was because I used Gram Marsala curry powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
This soup was delicious. Finding the ingredients in the store was the hardest part, but it really was worth the effort to have something a little different! I made it with tofu instead of chicken and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2003
This was absolutely divine! I followed the recipe exactly (except for using light coconut milk) and it was perfect. When I have this at a Vietnamese restaurant, it's always served with French bread, which tastes great dipped in the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
I cannot say enough good things about this recipe. It was simple, flavorful, filling! My friend and I ate the WHOLE batch in one sitting, except for a bowlful we were too stuffed to eat.. which turned into a pea-soup consistency the next day, and was even spicier. I thought it excelled the next day, however I'm not sure a batch will ever make it that long in my house. No lime leaves to be found here, but the flavor depth sure did not suffer. For more stewy consistency, just cook the potatoes longer, don't worry about decreasing the liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
This is by far the best thing I've made all year!! Bill, yer the bomb! I didn't find any lime leaves, and I used 3 chicken breasts left over from a slow cooker chicken curry recipe. I didn't have any onions so I used about 1/8 c. of minced onion. I used the Madras curry.(which is nothing like Garam Marasala, an indian blend of spice) Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
The flavor of this soup is really good. I used all of the ingredients in the recipe, except for the lime leaves. I don't know about the lemon grass. I bought two stalks, cut them into small pieces, and it was like little pieces of straw floating around in the soup. They were inedible. What did I do wrong? Other than that, the soup was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
this is awesome!!!!!!!!!! I do cut back on the red pepper flakes (like 1/2 tsp.)...the fish sauce smells awful in the bottle, but doesn't make the soup taste fishy at all...the cilantro is a perfect touch at the end. Excellent reheated the next couple of days too. 3-23-07 update...don't substitute LIGHT coconut milk for the regular....yuck....makes it too thin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States