Vietnamese-Style Chicken Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
This was great! Very flavorful and a tad bit spicy. I'm Vietnamese and it was about as good as my mom's. However, I did make some changes to make it more like hers. I didn't have lemon grass stalk so I took another user's suggestion and used 1 tbsp of minced lemon grass. I left out the green bell pepper, lime leaves, bay leaf and cilantro. I did however added sweet potatoes like my mom. By the way, you are going to need a HUGE pot. I had to use two 6qt stockpot to accommodate everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This recipe was awfully labor intensive... It seems a lot easier just to cook the chicken straight in the broth and cut the time in half. It was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
This was alright. I was expecting a lot more flavor with all of the ingredients. Just a fancy/spicy chicken soup. Makes a lot too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Very nice recipe:) Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
In Vietnam people don't put bell pepper (or so called sweet pepper or Da Lat papper in Vietnamese), carrot and ginger in the curry. However, you can customize the dish and add many vegetable as you want but this will make it look more like the curry dishes of other countries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ho Chi Minh City, Dong Nam Bo, Viet Nam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I made this with "easy naan" and it was an awesome & easy side to this flavorful soup. Although that means I inappropriately mixed Indian bread with Vietnamese style soup - naan is often eaten with curries and I think they are delish together. The lady at the Asian food store told me that lime leaves are tough to find anywhere in the country right now because of the Korean economy, but this soup was fine without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
This was sooo good. I'm Vietnamese and I've been craving my mom's curry ever since I've moved away from home. Needless to say, this was just like Mom's [don't tell her I said that]! Some additions and substitutions I made to the recipe: instead of lime leaves, I used fresh basil - makes all the difference. No stalks of lemon grass, but I did have chopped lemon grass, added about a tablespoon. For the reviewer who wondered why he/she couldn't eat the lemongrass - that's because stalks are not supposed to be eaten. It's there for flavoring, just like the bay leaf. When chopped finely, the lemon grass isn't as hardy as you chew all the other goodness. Also added a little bit more red peper flakes for an extra kick. Everything turned out so great that I brought some in to work for a buddy and he loved it also. Thanks, Billy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
this is awesome!!!!!!!!!! I do cut back on the red pepper flakes (like 1/2 tsp.)...the fish sauce smells awful in the bottle, but doesn't make the soup taste fishy at all...the cilantro is a perfect touch at the end. Excellent reheated the next couple of days too. 3-23-07 update...don't substitute LIGHT coconut milk for the regular....yuck....makes it too thin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2005
The flavor of this soup is really good. I used all of the ingredients in the recipe, except for the lime leaves. I don't know about the lemon grass. I bought two stalks, cut them into small pieces, and it was like little pieces of straw floating around in the soup. They were inedible. What did I do wrong? Other than that, the soup was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2004
This is by far the best thing I've made all year!! Bill, yer the bomb! I didn't find any lime leaves, and I used 3 chicken breasts left over from a slow cooker chicken curry recipe. I didn't have any onions so I used about 1/8 c. of minced onion. I used the Madras curry.(which is nothing like Garam Marasala, an indian blend of spice) Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States