Vietnamese-Style Chicken Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
This came out awesome! I will take one member's advice & cut the water & broth in half. I think I would rather have it just a little thicker next time. Although it was perfect as is. No lime/bay leaf is fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Excellent recipe. I'd make the following mods: use two instead of one lemon grass; light-flour( with salt, some pepper and garlic powder) the chicken before frying it -- put one Tbs salt, two Tbs flour in a bag with chicken and shake it to get some coating veil; put fried chicken in boiling water to seal flavor -- skim off scums at boil, And then later add chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raquel
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I used basil leaves instead of kaffir lime leaves as suggested by one reviewer. Also halved the spices and still found it quite hot. It's yummy though so I think I would tweak it a bit more next time. Probably would put the bell peppers later than specified as they came out overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Wonderful! I doubled the vegetables and coconut milk and took out the water, which made for a thicker soup/stew. I also cooked it for about an hour and a half to make sure the potatoes were soft. It went great with the recommended french bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matthew Perrett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Served this to my bookclub gals. They loved it. I made it up a day ahead and the vegetables were a little bit softer than I would like but the flavors were outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Great soup! I used 2 potato and 1 rutabaga. The store I shop at did not have lime leaves, still wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATORGRAVY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Citra, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I made this 2 nights ago..and it's the 3rd time making it! Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Dugan Chong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
This soup was so tasty. It was mad hot though...so I will cut the hot ingredients in half next time. Also, I made it with half of the liquid, and it was still more soupy than stewey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made this for my boyfriend who had been missing this soup since he left home...the first bite he took was worth all the effort it took to find the ingredients! He LOVED it and said it was exactly right (although I looked at it and wondered if it was suppose to be that color - rest assured, it is!). I didn't have a few of the ingredients, fresh ginger root, lemon grass, etc. and it still turned out great. Thanks for the recipe, we will be using it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Recipe is almost like momma's...Quick tips: I usually don't have time so I use chicken breasts instead of whole chicken and red curry paste instead of the powder. I am curious about what other veggies people put in their pot. We use: Potatoes, carrots, onions, eggplants, green peas or fresh snap beans. Lemongrass is a must!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States