Vietnamese-Style Chicken Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I didn't have lemon grass, shallots, lime leaves, or cilantro, and this still came out amazing! I also skipped the coconut milk and green bell pepper -- I added extra carrot. I did have a good curry powder (S&B Oriental) and a good broth. I thicken it with a little corn starch so it sticks to rice and/or bread. The fish sauce makes this especially yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Very good!! I mostly made it as is, except for I didn't add the quart of water and I couldn't find the kaffir lime leaves. It did taste like something was missing, but maybe it was the kaffir lime leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
This recipe is a mind blower! The balance of flavors is what strikes you at first spoonfull. Only change I made was from 2 down to a half teaspoon of red pepper flakes. My family can't wait to have it again. Allrecipes is without a doubt the best recipe vault on the web.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
too spicy but really good. next time i will add just 1 teaspoon of pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardenia073

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
This was an excellent recipe and I had all the ingredients in my house! A few changes: used chicken bouillion and water because I didn't have chicken broth/stock. Did half a pound of pork stir fry strips and boneless, skinless chicken thighs, which I sauteed first before cooking chunked onion. Omitted fish sauce and added only 2.5 tbsp curry powder (again, that's all I had). For some spice, I added half a tbsp chili flake and close to a tbsp of Rooster sauce (garlic chili sauce). Also omitted bell pepper, as truly Vietnamese mother never added such a thing to her curry soup. Simmered everything for about an hour or so and served over rice and shredded Napa cabbage. Delish! Okay, just about made my own recipe, but it turned out very nicely with this as a base. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Ahhhh, Cari! It ain't moms recipe but it's purdy darn good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
DELICIOUS! I loove my family's vietnamese chicken curry and this tastes exactly like how my mom makes! I added a little dash of salt and it brought out the flavors more. i also added sriracha to spice it up. it was perfect! i ate it with french bread. YUMMY! i can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nerdyconnie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
I put this in the slow cooker with chicken breasts. I simmered the sauce ingredients with the onion and chicken all day, then about 1 1/2 hours before serving I added the vegetables (except the potatoes, left them out entirely). I added a couple basil leaves to the broth, and used lemon zest instead of lemon grass because that is what I had on hand. This soup was fantastic, my husband and I loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Excellent, tasty, spicy! Found kaffir lime leaves at a local asian grocery. The hardest part of this recipe was deboning/skinning the whole chicken. I'll likely buy chicken pieces next time. I was also a bit confused as to why this appeared under World Cuisine, Canada, Toronto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States