Vietnamese Spring Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Take it from a vietnamese cook, you NEVER add fish sauce to a spring roll. You use a mixture of peanut butter, hoisin sauce, water, sauteed minced garlic for a dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
VERY IMPORTANT: there are 2 kinds of spring roll wrappers! DO NOT get the kind made of wheat flour from the freezer section that look like egg roll wrappers! Rice wrappers are thin, clear, and feel just like a dry noodle. In fact, the asian store I went to stocked the wrappers in the noodle aisle. You just have to moisten the wrapper in hot water for a second or two, NOT 20. It will feel hard but by the time you layer the ingredients it will have softened. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
wonderful recipe- just like my favorite vietnamese restaurant! Try wrapping them in additional mint and butterleaf lettuce leaves before dipping them in peanut sauce, mmmm..makes a wonderful, healthy meal-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
Excellent directions for handling the rice wrappers. I filled them with shredded Chinese cabbage and finely sliced shrimp, jalapenos, scallion, carrots, peppers, and alfalfa sprouts, cilantro and mint. Made a tasty dipping sauce with juice of one lime mixed with Hoisin sauce. They were a big hit with my dinner guests. This is an interesting substitute for a salad course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Firstly, great simple directions on rolling rice wrappers. I got better the more carefully I followed them. The recipe is perfect, but I did add grated carrots and julienned English cucumbers. I like "Best Peanut Sauce" on this site, for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
Excellent. Very easy to make and even kept fresh for a day or so in the fridge. I did watch a video on u-tube on how to assemble them. (the visual helped me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I was glad to learn how to make spring rolls! Always wanted to know how to do it! I would change a couple of the ingredients though. I would skip the rice noodles and fish sauce! Instead next time I think I will add some sliced cucumbers and shredded carrots! I just gave each roll a little dash of the fish sauce, and they turned out rather salty! That's why I would skip the fish sauce! But thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
i've been to vietnam recently... your recipe tastes exactly the one i ate there! good !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reynan

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pasig City, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
These are good. Fresh and healthy. I have been making spring rolls for a few years and I always put in carrot and a fresh basil leaf. Great to dip in peanut or hoisin sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Spring rolls are supposed to be deep fried. These are salad rolls. But other than that, these are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

How to Make a California Spring Rolls

Watch Chef John make fresh spring rolls with “crab” and avocado.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States