Vietnamese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Husband's Verdict: "Refreshing" Did bean spouts in lieu of the red onion, because husband won't eat raw onion. The bean sprouts gave a little 'snap.'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I followed advice about adding pickled carrots. Served it on a baguette. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
oh yum! these sandwhiches are absolutely delicious! I did add shredded marinated carrots, I used asian sweet chili sauce, also since I don't have a broiler I just fried the meat in a pan, but it was one of the best things I've eaten in a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariane

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This a great use for leftover pork tenderloin. I always add marinated/pickled carrots and daikon radish and jalapeno slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrieannro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poplar Grove, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
My entire family loved the sandwiches. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBarnCafe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Excellent! I also marinated cucumbers and carrots in rice vinegar as someone suggested. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
My husband and I adore this sandwich!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
This is not the Vietnamese Sandwich I am used to. The best one I had the veges were pickled in some kind of viniger. Thats the best! This is ok but it is not traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Used shredded pork shoulder, since we had some already in the fridge. It was a really good sandwich, but it didn't WOW me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I'm part Vietnamese and growing up I only ate Vietnamese/Chinese food. This recipe is way different than what I am used to...maybe because all the Vietnamese people I know come from a different part of Asia than the author of this recipe?? LOL (also, i have never seen them have lime juice or chile sauce with garlic or red onion) Anyway, this how I've seen it and how I've been eating it for over 20 years... The example below is for ONE 6-7inch french bread split lengthwise -slightly Toast the french bread -2 teaspoon of pate mixed with 1 teaspoon of mayo (no substitute please) -optional: add fresh sliced chili peppers to this mixture (up to you how spicy) -spread on the insides of bread -use Pork "meatloaf" (called "Cha" at the oriental markets.. they also sell these freshly fried! mmm...but I don't get the fried one for this sandwich) -garnish with cucumbers, pickled carrots, sliced jalapenos, and you definitely must have cilantro! Very simple! Don't let pate scare you away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Sandwich

See how to make an authentic Vietnamese pork sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States