Vietnamese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Wyattdogster
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
We thought this was very tasty. Even my hubby who is suspicious of any Asian food that is NOT classified as Chinese had two! I did toss the cucumber with matchstick carrots in a bowl with seasoned rice vinegar with a bit of sugar and let them 'pickle'a bit while I prepared everything else. The chop slices marinated in the garlic chili sauce for an hour or so. Very juicy and flavorful, thanks for posting this recip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
This is, without a doubt, a keeper! My husband and I went crazy over the combination of flavors. It was simple to prepare as I grilled the pork and brushed it with the chili garlic sauce. You can control the heat by adding more sauce at any time. We definitely will make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
I used Tabasco Brand Green Pepper Sauce because I just didn't have the chili sauce on hand. My household loved this sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
i loved this sandwich!!!!! just finished a late lunch and so happy about it. chili sauce/cilantro combo was great. thanks. will share this recipe with friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edalton44

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Highland, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
This is the first time I've posted a review on this site. I use the recipes all the time but I have to say this is my hands down favorite. Everyone in my household dubbed this "The Best Sandwich Ever Eaten." Loved this. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Followed recipe except for chile sauce - couldn't find any. Found the pork chops to lack flavor - perhaps spice up or marinate prior to broiling. Spread pate on bread as suggested. Overall, good flavor except for pork. Don't know that I'd try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I personally think that these sandwiches have got to be some of my favourite. However, I got spoiled years a go by a local Vietnamese family restaurant. I would like to offer a few additions to this basic recipe. That is, try adding some sliced jalapeno chilies if you like some spiciness. The local shop also sprinkled some Maggi seasoning sauce. One thing that has been left off of this recipe that I have never seen NOT included is shredded marinated carrots. Finally, consider marinating the pork and charbroiling it. You also might consider pulling out some of the bread inside each sliced half. I know this sounds a bit wasteful, but it will make it much easier to manage and hold all these ingredients/fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
A sandwich with fresh ingredients like this is always good, but this isn't terribly authentic. Missing the pate and fresh jalapeno pepper slices. Also, pickled carrots and onion are usually found in these types of sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mattie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I made this sandwich (with the Tomato, Cucumber, Red Onion & Mint salad) for lunch when the in-laws came to visit and it was a huge hit! We only had 3 butterfly porkchops on hand and that was plenty for four people. Marinated the meat first in some sweet chili sauce & lime juice before grilling. Then the hubbie sliced the pork into thin pieces and we layered this with the veggies. Also added julienned carrots per one reviewers suggestion. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Great quick and easy sandwich. I spread the chili sauce on the pork chops while I broiled them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Sandwich

See how to make an authentic Vietnamese pork sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States