Vietnamese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I personally think that these sandwiches have got to be some of my favourite. However, I got spoiled years a go by a local Vietnamese family restaurant. I would like to offer a few additions to this basic recipe. That is, try adding some sliced jalapeno chilies if you like some spiciness. The local shop also sprinkled some Maggi seasoning sauce. One thing that has been left off of this recipe that I have never seen NOT included is shredded marinated carrots. Finally, consider marinating the pork and charbroiling it. You also might consider pulling out some of the bread inside each sliced half. I know this sounds a bit wasteful, but it will make it much easier to manage and hold all these ingredients/fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
A sandwich with fresh ingredients like this is always good, but this isn't terribly authentic. Missing the pate and fresh jalapeno pepper slices. Also, pickled carrots and onion are usually found in these types of sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mattie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I made this sandwich (with the Tomato, Cucumber, Red Onion & Mint salad) for lunch when the in-laws came to visit and it was a huge hit! We only had 3 butterfly porkchops on hand and that was plenty for four people. Marinated the meat first in some sweet chili sauce & lime juice before grilling. Then the hubbie sliced the pork into thin pieces and we layered this with the veggies. Also added julienned carrots per one reviewers suggestion. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
Great quick and easy sandwich. I spread the chili sauce on the pork chops while I broiled them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
We jazzed up the mayo with a little thai hot garlic sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
Very authentic banh mi recipe. I'm eating the leftovers from last night now! So sad to see it go... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
A delicious change from the typical turkey or roast beef sandwich I usually make when time and/or effort is in short supply. I particularly enjoyed the nice blend of sauces and how they complemented each other. I'm not a big fan of lime but it gave the sandwich just the right amount of zest. I was surprised at how the chili sauce did not overwhelm all the other flavors; it looked like it would be really tangy but was not. The pork was very juicy in the manner cooked. My favorite herb, cilantro, was a great addition as well. I'd definitely make this sandwich again but I would give myself a little more time to prepare because "ready in 15 minutes" is tough to do when preparing all the components of this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe. I am Viet and my mothers adds pate or "potted meat product" and pickled carrots as well. Also good with roasted chicken. yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Totally tasty sandwich... we've made it twice in two weeks now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Fantastic! The tastes all blended together really well. Next time will use less of the chili sauce but that's personal preference. Excellent and very fast meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Sandwich

See how to make an authentic Vietnamese pork sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States