Vietnamese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Very good. I found about 20 different chili sauces in my market and didn't know which one to use. I opted for a Thai red chili garlic sauce. The sweet/spicy flavor was perfect. I think we may try another type of bread with this. It was a little difficult to manage and distracted from the fresh flavors. Maybe a Naan or Pita would be better. Love the flavor combination of the filling. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
I would make this again; great use of pork chops. Don't skimp on the chili sauce, lime or cilantro on this sandwich, or it will be boring! I did add shredded marinated carrots, which I think added something (shred 1 large carrot, cook 1 minute in microwave, splash with rice vinegar, lime, and a bit of olive oil and water, and let sit while you prepare the sandwich).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
When I told the man that we were having Vietnamese sandwiches for supper, I got a blank stare. Two great big sandwiches later, he gave me the go-ahead to make them again. If I can get him to eat raw red onion, you know it's a keeper. The only change I made was the pan fry the loin chops. I will probably use more mayo and chili sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washburn, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Turtle Lake, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
needed the carrots to make it authentic: thinly slice carrots then add it to a bowl containing a mixture of some rice vinegar with 1 teaspoon sugar. You can also marinate the onions and cucumbers in this mixture as well. Do this part fist, so it can marinate fully while you are assembling the sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
I really enjoyed these, as did the kids. I used shredded cabbage and carrots in place of the cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Greenbrier, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
Yay! I love vietnames sandwiches. I sliced the meat thin and marinated it in a blend of viet sweet chili sauce and viet hot garlic chili sauce. I marinated matchstick carrot and the onion in sugar and vinegar and I added a couple of the veggies they put on at the vietnamese deli's where I live: daikon and sliced jalepenos. We all really enjoyed it - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
I also shredded carrots and marinated in a vinegar-sugar mixture. This is an excellent sandwich and could be adapted easily for a large crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
This was so delicious! I marinated the meat in the chili sauce, olive oil, and lime juice. I also marinated the veggies in white wine vinegar and sugar. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
We really enjoyed this. Used bean sprouts instead of the onion, but it was easy to adjust to different preferences of spiciness with the chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarabella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitefield, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
I've made this so many times now, it is one of my favorite dishes!!! I ususally marinate the pork in a mixture of vinegar, olive oil, sherry, sugar and spices then I put it under the broiler. I love Vietnamese food and it is nice to find a recipe that doesn't have a thousand ingredients in it that still tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vietnamese Sandwich

See how to make an authentic Vietnamese pork sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States