Vietnamese Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Used shredded pork shoulder, since we had some already in the fridge. It was a really good sandwich, but it didn't WOW me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I'm part Vietnamese and growing up I only ate Vietnamese/Chinese food. This recipe is way different than what I am used to...maybe because all the Vietnamese people I know come from a different part of Asia than the author of this recipe?? LOL (also, i have never seen them have lime juice or chile sauce with garlic or red onion) Anyway, this how I've seen it and how I've been eating it for over 20 years... The example below is for ONE 6-7inch french bread split lengthwise -slightly Toast the french bread -2 teaspoon of pate mixed with 1 teaspoon of mayo (no substitute please) -optional: add fresh sliced chili peppers to this mixture (up to you how spicy) -spread on the insides of bread -use Pork "meatloaf" (called "Cha" at the oriental markets.. they also sell these freshly fried! mmm...but I don't get the fried one for this sandwich) -garnish with cucumbers, pickled carrots, sliced jalapenos, and you definitely must have cilantro! Very simple! Don't let pate scare you away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Vietnamese Pateh
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
We love these sandwiches. I make them all of the time. They are fantastic just as written, but I sometimes add marinated carrots and jalapenos, because my husband likes hot things. Easy and great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, my husband who doesn't rate anything at a 5, did so with this one. I don't even really care for cucumber or cilantro but, ohhhh the mixture of them together along with the mayo and lime and chili sauce, my taste buds were shouting for joy. I can't wait to try the carrots with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and the sandwiches were ok. I have had traditional vietnamese sandwiches and they tasted different. These seemed like they were missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
These were great and easy to make. They go great with Carrot Coconut Lime soup on a rainy day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Daugherty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This sandwich was AMAZING and SUPER quick and easy to make. It was ready in 10 minutes! I admit that I did not measure the ingredients, just tossed them on the sandwich (but did add more cilantro later). My husband preferred his with "lots of lime". He gives it two thumbs as well. We will definitely be making this again and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Husband loves Banh Mi sandwiches, and this is a good, customizable recipe. I make them pretty much as written, but he prefers his without onion and with grated carrot and plenty of fresh jalapeno slices. You can also add radish, beansprouts or shredded cabbage. Don't forget the Sriracha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
A light, tasty sandwich. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Sandwich

See how to make an authentic Vietnamese pork sandwich.

How to Make the Ultimate Steak Sandwich

Watch Chef John create the juiciest, meatiest steak sandwich ever.

Reuben Sandwich II

See how to make a classic corned-beef deli sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States