Vietnamese Salad Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
Fabulous! I replaced the shrimp with baked tofu. This was so flavorful that no dipping sauce was wanted. These are light and refreshing, and I love to have these during the summer when it's too hot to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I needed a recipe not for the ingredients but to help me remember the steps to making salad rolls... this one worked excellently!! The right balance of noodles, veggies, and meat. However, I use cilantro instead of basil, add roast pork along with the shrimp, and added a cup of peanut butter to the sauce - all touches from our favorite Vietnamese restaurant!! Thanks for a great basic recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
this is an easy recipe, but the local market didnt have basil, or mint..so i used fresh cilantro instead. it's a great alternative to sandwiches in the children's lunches. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by micas77
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Delicious! I was surprised to find that rice paper is relatively easy to work with. I made the Thai-Style Peanut Sauce with Honey (from this site) instead of the hoisin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Yum! What a treat to make these at home! I followed the advice of other posters and mixed the hoisin sauce with some peanut butter - divine. Better than the dipping sauce at a lot of restaurants. I added basil, mint, and cilantro. SO good. Thanks Claudine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa.murakami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
I love these! I also add cucumber, sometimes chicken/shrimp but often veggie so they are loved by all and even cheaper/easier! I make a sauce without much of a recipe, about 3-4 parts hoisin, 1 part rice/balsamic vinegar, 4-5 drops of sesame oil, 1-2 parts soy sauce, and 1tbsp melted peanut butter - a tad of mint/cilantro are also good additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Absolutely wonderful, and very easy to make. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
When making with tofu, marinate it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
These were good but missing something. I will try adding more basil or mint maybe next time. I think the peanut sauce would also complement these well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Photo by cproulx
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
we omitted the noodles and substituted crab meat, and leftover turkey and ham for the shrimp (made differnt varieties). didn't have any basil so left that out too. very good - try with sweet chili sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cproulx

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States