Vietnamese Salad Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
These are wonderful! I made a spicy peanut dipping sauce for them. Added mint and cilantro with the basil and MMMM Good! Thanks so much Claudine! No longer do I have to go OUT to have yummy salad rolls! It was easier to make these than to find the rice paper to roll them up in. But my local Asian market finally solved the problem. Make and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEART2HAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Altos, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LucyDelRey
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I used tofu instead of shrimp and mint leaves instead of basil. I used a sushi mat underneath the rice papers so that the excess water can drip below. Also I was able to roll these tighter using the mat. Also, I added some smooth natural peanut butter to the hoisin sauce and the whole meal tasted like the ones served at restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
These were a very refreshing appetizer. They are kind of time consuming to make but a wonderful for a light dish. I recommend serving them with Mae Ploy sweet chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
I like these a lot. Instead of the dipping sauce from hoisin, I like to dip them in Thai sweet chili sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Photo by Rosanna
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I love making salad rolls but it is time consuming. It usually takes me about 1.5 hours from start to finish to make about 15 rolls. In addition to the ingredients listed, I like to add shredded chicken breast, julienne cucumbers, bean sprouts, cilantro and mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
This is great! I substituted fresh mint for the basil, since the restaurants that I go to usually prepare them that way. I make a dipping sauce made of hoisin sauce, Sriracha chili sauce, some seasoned rice wine vinegar, peanut butter, and crushed peanuts. See, food CAN be healthy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
It's light and tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This recipe was great. Just like the ones you get a Vietnamese restaurant. I eat them with a peanut sauce made with smooth peanut butter, hoisin sauce, lime juice, honey. Yummy!! By the way, in step 2 it doen't say to add the vermicelli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I think this is a great recipe. If you are familiar with Vietnamese soft rolls or are willing to try new foods, you will be pleased with these. They taste just like the ones from the Vietnamese restaurant. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
These pack a great flavor. Hoison sauce is perfect for dipping. Slice on a diagonal and lean them against each other on a bed of swiss chard or bok choy. Your family or guests will love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States