Vietnamese Salad Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
Added cilantro and basil. I didn't use carrots. The taste was comparable to my fav vietnamese resturaunt. I added crunchy PB to my hoisin. Don't think it helped the sauce flavor that much. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zachary, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
These were pretty good. In my opinion they had too much vermicelli in them, but other than that they were good. Would also be nice to add some sort of a sauce to the inner of the rolls, maybe a sweet chili sauce or something similar. Will make again and have a play around with some sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
These were awesome. Just like at the restaurant. I am very pleased with the recipe. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraSem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
i like this very much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Didn't realize these were so easy to make, messy but really easy. Just think I need to practice my rolling technique though. Fun to make with older kids :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I think this is a great recipe. If you are familiar with Vietnamese soft rolls or are willing to try new foods, you will be pleased with these. They taste just like the ones from the Vietnamese restaurant. Thanks for submitting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
So fresh and healthy! I used Japanese thin soba noodles and added some chopped cilantro. I think the whole basil leaves were too overpowering ( I used 2 in each roll). I would suggest using one, or maybe chopping them. These were still great served with Oriental dipping sauce (this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
These were terrible. We followed the recipe exactly accept substituted chicken for the shrimp. No one at the table could even eat them. They were completely flavorless. We even tried deep frying them to see if they would be better minus the gummy texture. NO LUCK! Steer clear of this recipe, we made dozens and had to thrown them all away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LucyDelRey
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2007
I used tofu instead of shrimp and mint leaves instead of basil. I used a sushi mat underneath the rice papers so that the excess water can drip below. Also I was able to roll these tighter using the mat. Also, I added some smooth natural peanut butter to the hoisin sauce and the whole meal tasted like the ones served at restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Very yummy and fresh! The rice wrappers dry out if left out, so make sure to cover left overs well. Very easy to make once all ingredients were ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vietnamese Spring Rolls with Dipping Sauce

See how to make beautiful Vietnamese spring rolls.

Vietnamese Fresh Spring Rolls

See how to make healthy spring rolls with shrimp.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States