Vietnamese Rice-Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Delish!!! I added a few thinly sliced scallions into the mix as well! We LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mojomama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lone Tree, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I had half of this as a full meal and loved it (big meal). Only thing I changed was from jalapeno pepper to sriracha sauce (couldn't find the pepper). After I cooked the noodles 4 minutes, I cut them into shorter pieces using kitchen shears, making it easier to mix and eat. Only hard part of making this was julienning the carrots. I need to find a machine that really works for that. The flavor got better and better as I ate so I will let it set and mellow next time (only made half the recipe so don't know how long it can mellow before drying out the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
loved it served with a grilled blackened snapper marinade in soy-lemon-fresh ground pepper and stir fried snap peas. next time I will use much less sugar. Note; rice noodles cook to al dente fast, so I gave them less time in the boil and rinsed in ice water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I added grilled pork on top of the dish for my meat loving husband. excellent recipe, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This was very good and used soy sauce instead of fish sauce and it was a hit with the family. Great quick healthy lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Absolutely loved it with my changes. Recipe serves 2 not 4 (provides generous amount of dressing). 3 garlic cloves. No jalapeno; use 1/2 to 1 tsp (to taste) Sriracha sauce. Use 3 TBSP fish sauce as directed for authentic flavor. 1 TBSP sugar. FRESH squeezed lime as directed. Add 1 tsp hoisin sauce to dressing. Peel and remove seeds from 1/2 cucumber; julienne into 1 1/2" strips. Remove center of 8 small-medium sized napa cabbage leaves and julienne. Use 2 servings soba noodles-2 oz dry (healthier and better texture). Mix carrots (use salad shooter/food processor on two small carrots), cilantro into dressing but not cucumber, mint or napa. Place cooled soba noodles into dressing and let sit 5 minutes. Place napa in bottom of each individual bowl. Add noodles, using tongs so dressing remains. Layer with cucumber and mint. Pour remaining dressing into bowls. Add chicken (or shrimp or tofu or beef): saute chicken thighs in canola oil with 1 TBSP peanut butter, 1 tsp soy sauce, 1 tsp grated ginger, 1/2 tsp sesame oil; cook thoroughly; slice into thin strips and place on top of bowls. This is a full meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Good flavor but it needs to be eaten right away. The noodles dry out and get hard quickly in the fridge. After reading reviews I decided to cut the garlic in half but otherwise I followed the recipe pretty closely. I did have to sub bok choy leaves for the napa cabbage due to availability at my grocery store. If I were to make this again I think I'd use a different kind of noodle, such as soba, a spicier chili pepper (like a Thai pepper) add some shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Lovely fresh salad, I used soy instead of fish sauce and a little more lemon juice, I also minced the mint into the dressing and added lettuce not cabbage, A nice light fresh salad on a summers day, good with grilled chicken or shrimp added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Delicious flavor, just like the vermicelli bowl from our local Vietnamese restaurant. I subbed soy sauce for fish sauce and added grilled shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jwilke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
My husband and I LOVED this recipe! I used chopped romaine and kale instead of cabbage and added crushed red pepper because our jalapeño wasn't hot. We took the suggestion from another review and used our hands to mix all the ingredients for only two servings in one large bowl. That way the left over lettuce wouldn't be soggy for tomorrow. We will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Yuba Noodle Salad

See how to make a yuba noodle and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States