Vietnamese Rice-Noodle Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
So good! I substituted soy sauce with fish sauce and it turned out fine. The noodles I used were banh pho noodles, which were the perfect texture. Definitely will try again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Hosoya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
I used 16 oz. of noodles (package size), boiled shrimp separately and added, doubled sauce, use shredded iceberg lettuce instead of cabbage and followed everything else exactly including garlic and cilantro quantities. Very yummy! Wish I had thai chilis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Steph
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
A very nice and light dinner on a hot summers night! My partner and I used iceberg lettuce and red chili as recommended in another review. We also added chicken which we marinated in garlic, ginger, hoisin sauce and a splash of soy sauce. We BBQ'd the chicken and added it on top of the salad. Delicious! We will definitely be making this one again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Delish!!! I added a few thinly sliced scallions into the mix as well! We LOVED this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mojomama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lone Tree, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I had half of this as a full meal and loved it (big meal). Only thing I changed was from jalapeno pepper to sriracha sauce (couldn't find the pepper). After I cooked the noodles 4 minutes, I cut them into shorter pieces using kitchen shears, making it easier to mix and eat. Only hard part of making this was julienning the carrots. I need to find a machine that really works for that. The flavor got better and better as I ate so I will let it set and mellow next time (only made half the recipe so don't know how long it can mellow before drying out the noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
loved it served with a grilled blackened snapper marinade in soy-lemon-fresh ground pepper and stir fried snap peas. next time I will use much less sugar. Note; rice noodles cook to al dente fast, so I gave them less time in the boil and rinsed in ice water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I added grilled pork on top of the dish for my meat loving husband. excellent recipe, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This was very good and used soy sauce instead of fish sauce and it was a hit with the family. Great quick healthy lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Absolutely loved it with my changes. Recipe serves 2 not 4 (provides generous amount of dressing). 3 garlic cloves. No jalapeno; use 1/2 to 1 tsp (to taste) Sriracha sauce. Use 3 TBSP fish sauce as directed for authentic flavor. 1 TBSP sugar. FRESH squeezed lime as directed. Add 1 tsp hoisin sauce to dressing. Peel and remove seeds from 1/2 cucumber; julienne into 1 1/2" strips. Remove center of 8 small-medium sized napa cabbage leaves and julienne. Use 2 servings soba noodles-2 oz dry (healthier and better texture). Mix carrots (use salad shooter/food processor on two small carrots), cilantro into dressing but not cucumber, mint or napa. Place cooled soba noodles into dressing and let sit 5 minutes. Place napa in bottom of each individual bowl. Add noodles, using tongs so dressing remains. Layer with cucumber and mint. Pour remaining dressing into bowls. Add chicken (or shrimp or tofu or beef): saute chicken thighs in canola oil with 1 TBSP peanut butter, 1 tsp soy sauce, 1 tsp grated ginger, 1/2 tsp sesame oil; cook thoroughly; slice into thin strips and place on top of bowls. This is a full meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Good flavor but it needs to be eaten right away. The noodles dry out and get hard quickly in the fridge. After reading reviews I decided to cut the garlic in half but otherwise I followed the recipe pretty closely. I did have to sub bok choy leaves for the napa cabbage due to availability at my grocery store. If I were to make this again I think I'd use a different kind of noodle, such as soba, a spicier chili pepper (like a Thai pepper) add some shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Fresh Vietnamese Vermicelli Bowl

See how to make a super-fresh Vietnamese noodle bowl.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States